Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories by Simon WinchesterAtlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories by Simon Winchester

Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million…

bySimon Winchester

Paperback | November 23, 2010 | Large Print

Pricing and Purchase Info

$30.02 online 
$34.99 list price save 14%
Earn 150 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

Simon Winchester is the acclaimed author of many books, includingThe Professor and the Madman,Atlantic,The Man Who Loved China,A Crack in the Edge of the World, andKrakatoa. In 2006, Mr. Winchester was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) by Her Majesty the Queen. He lives in western Massachusetts.
Loading
Title:Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million…Format:Paperback | Large PrintDimensions:696 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.39 inPublished:November 23, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006200249X

ISBN - 13:9780062002495

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Winchester brings a knowledge as vast and deep as his subject to this history of the Atlantic Ocean.”