Aulus Gellius Noctes Atticae Volume I: (Books 1-10) by P. K. MarshallAulus Gellius Noctes Atticae Volume I: (Books 1-10) by P. K. Marshall

Aulus Gellius Noctes Atticae Volume I: (Books 1-10)

EditorP. K. Marshall

Hardcover | April 30, 1999

Pricing and Purchase Info

$73.76 online 
$86.50 list price save 14%
Earn 369 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Aulus Gellius, who lived in Rome in the mid-second century AD, wrote his Noctes Atticae in twenty books; of this most survives but lacks the beginning, end, and all of book 8 bar the chapter headings. The work is a collection of mainly short chapters dealing with a great variety of topicsincluding philosophy, history, law, grammar, and literary criticism. Gellius began collecting the material while a student in Athens, and assembled it later in life with the specific purpose of entertaining and instructing his own children. The manuscripts of Gellius have not been examined since themiddle of the nineteenth century. This edition (in two volumes) presents a complete re-examination of the codices, several of which are earlier than previous editors have thought. Full collations are provided for the numerous fragmentary citations in the text, in the hope that they will allow a moreaccurate treatment of these fragments. In books 9-20 the readings of the ninth-century manuscript F are presented, on the basis of which the editor attempts to offer a new criterion for deciding between variant readings.
P. K. Marshall is at Amherst College, Massachusetts.
Title:Aulus Gellius Noctes Atticae Volume I: (Books 1-10)Format:HardcoverDimensions:376 pages, 7.28 × 4.92 × 0.91 inPublished:April 30, 1999Publisher:Oxford University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0198146515

ISBN - 13:9780198146513