Avogadro Corp: The Singularity is Closer than it Appears by William Hertling

Avogadro Corp: The Singularity is Closer than it Appears

byWilliam Hertling

Kobo ebook | August 18, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$3.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

Winner Science Fiction DIY Book Festival 2011

Foreword Reviews Science Fiction Book of the Year for 2011

"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines."

-- Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars

 

"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.”

-- Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION

 

"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization.  I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night."

-- Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS, THE PHOENIX PROJECT

 

"A fictional world where Portland is the hub for the most exciting advancements in technology... [J]am packed with great references to deep Portland culture...and Portlandia-type references"

-- SILICON FLORIST

 

"Hertling builds a picture of how an AI could emerge, piece by piece, from technology available today.  A fascinating, logical, and utterly believable scenario - I just hope nobody tries this at home."

-- Nathaniel Rutman, Senior Systems Architect

Title:Avogadro Corp: The Singularity is Closer than it AppearsFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:August 18, 2014Publisher:liquididea pressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN:9990005583619

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from written by an Engineer This book reads like it was written by an engineer. The plot is OK - cute premise, I guess - but the actual writing style is, well, painful. Don't bother if you value character depiction or development. Reads like an HBO TV show.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome read Accidently read the 2nd book in this series first and loved it. Bought yje first and third books now and have finished the first. Excellent read for the price. Wish the book was longer as I had trouble putting it down and read it so quick. AI will happen it is just a matter of when not if and how we react.
Date published: 2015-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intersting and engaging This was a fun, fast read but still full of great ideas and examples of how everything can change in an instant.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Accidents will happen. if the so-called "singularity" occurs, I bet: - it will be an unplanned, secondary event - it won't tell us. in that vein, this book represents a realistic scenario for the future.
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great read Couldn't put it down.
Date published: 2013-08-22