Bankers And Empire: How Wall Street Colonized The Caribbean by Peter James Hudson

Bankers And Empire: How Wall Street Colonized The Caribbean

byPeter James Hudson

Hardcover | April 27, 2017

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$58.09 online 
$58.50 list price
Earn 290 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

From the end of the nineteenth century until the onset of the Great Depression, Wall Street embarked on a stunning, unprecedented, and often bloody period of international expansion in the Caribbean. The precursors to institutions like Citibank and JPMorgan Chase, as well as a host of long-gone and lesser-known financial entities, sought to push out their European rivals so that they could control banking, trade, and finance in the region. In the process, they not only trampled local sovereignty, grappled with domestic banking regulation, and backed US imperialism—but they also set the model for bad behavior by banks, visible still today.

In Bankers and Empire, Peter James Hudson tells the provocative story of this period, taking a close look at both the institutions and individuals who defined this era of American capitalism in the West Indies. Whether in Wall Street minstrel shows or in dubious practices across the Caribbean, the behavior of the banks was deeply conditioned by bankers’ racial views and prejudices. Drawing deeply on a broad range of sources, Hudson reveals that the banks’ experimental practices and projects in the Caribbean often led to embarrassing failure, and, eventually, literal erasure from the archives. Bankers and Empire is a groundbreaking book, one which will force readers to think anew about the relationship between capitalism and race.

About The Author

Peter James Hudson is assistant professor of history and African American studies at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Details & Specs

Title:Bankers And Empire: How Wall Street Colonized The CaribbeanFormat:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.2 inPublished:April 27, 2017Publisher:University Of Chicago PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:022645911X

ISBN - 13:9780226459110

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Bankers And Empire: How Wall Street Colonized The Caribbean

Reviews

Extra Content

Table of Contents

Introduction / Dark Finance
One / Colonialism’s Methods
Two / Rogue Bankers
Three / The Bankers’ Occupation
Four / Empire’s Regulation
Five / American Expansion
Six / Imperial Government
Seven / Odious Debt
Conclusion / Racial Capitalism’s Crisis
Acknowledgments
Notes
Index

Editorial Reviews

“Hudson’s Bankers and Empire is a landmark book. In the tradition of W.E.B. Du Bois and Cedric Robinson, Hudson has written a book that illuminates the connection between racial capitalism and US imperialism: between the process by which notions of racial differences were both produced out of and ploughed back into the global surplus harvested by American banks, and the fact that those banks investments abroad were, in the final instance, guaranteed by the military power of the United States. The book’s bold argumentation is rooted in painstaking research in otiose archives. And Hudson writes like an angel on fire.”