Bay Of Hope: Five Years In Newfoundland by David WardBay Of Hope: Five Years In Newfoundland by David Ward

Bay Of Hope: Five Years In Newfoundland

byDavid Ward

Paperback | April 17, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.08 online 
$21.95 list price save 8%
Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A "come from away" exploring love, loneliness, and adventure in remote Newfoundland

Part memoir, part nature writing, part love story, Bay of Hope is an occasionally comical, often adversarial, and always emotional story about the five years ecologist David Ward lived in an isolated Newfoundland community; of how he ended up there, worked, survived the elements, and coped with loneliness and a lack of intimacy. But this book is also a story about David's 78 McCallum, Newfoundland, neighbors, the unforgiving mountain and wilderness culture they call home, and why their government wishes they were dead.

Creative nonfiction written in the tradition of Farley Mowat's Bay of Spirits, Ward's memoir is also evocative of Michael Crummey's poignant novel Sweetland and Annie Dillard's Pulitzer Prize-winning Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. A book about how great adventure tales do not always have to include dramatic, never-attempted, death-defying feats, Bay of Hope shows us that a person can travel a million miles over the treacherous terrain within their hearts, as long as they're courageous enough to make such an arduous trek.

While he has had many different jobs, and lived in a large number of places, David Ward currently considers himself a writer/teacher who resides on the Trent-Severn Waterway in Fenelon Falls, Ontario. Author of the award-winning and critically acclaimed The Lost 10 Point Night, David is a former recipient of the Charles E. Pascal Award...
Loading
Title:Bay Of Hope: Five Years In NewfoundlandFormat:PaperbackDimensions:264 pages, 7 × 5 × 0.6 inPublished:April 17, 2018Publisher:ECW PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1770413820

ISBN - 13:9781770413825

Reviews

Read from the Book

An official with the provincial government's Department of Municipal Affairs will be in McCallum in late August to hold an information session about possible resettlement. Apparently, a recent unofficial poll in McCallum resulted in 79 percent of eligible residents voting for resettlement.- The St. John's Telegram, August 2, 2013I wish the town of McCallum had kept its name Bonne Bay. It was changed to honour the Newfoundland governor shortly after the time of his term. Bonne Bay is a poetic title and fitting tribute to the Southwest Coast's French history, and semantically correct given that "bonne" means "good." The only pleasure I get from knowing this outport was named after a British colonizer comes from learning that Sir Henry Edward McCallum didn't get along with politicians, including Newfoundland premier Robert Bond, the son of a St. John's merchant. That's why Henry served such a short time as governor of Newfoundland (1899-1901) before being appointed elsewhere, because of the tension between the two men.Henry's fast transfer out of Newfoundland was unfortunate, given that every region Henry governed - except Newfoundland - grew immensely. Henry McCallum was a huge success. It appears that Newfoundland's failure to grow as much as Henry's other colonies - Lagos, Natal, Ceylon - is a direct result of government's long-term mismanagement of the island's fishery and extended economy, because Newfoundlanders gave birth to a comparable number of children, but with there being no work, Newfoundlanders were forced to assemble their families elsewhere. All of which makes me wonder: If government post-Henry McCallum had been competent, how many people would reside in Newfoundland now? And how many would live in McCallum, a community that, while its population peaked at 284 in the late 1980s, has the same number of residents today - 79 - as it did when Henry was governor?It's easy to see why rural Newfoundland is dying. Children grow up and leave for work or school and don't come back, while the rest of us just get older. You don't have to be a math genius to figure out what happens next. What I don't understand is why so many people from elsewhere feel compelled to tell McCallum residents that their hometown is at death's door. I write for a Newfoundland newspaper - I'm trying to live The Shipping News dream - so, via email, snail mail, social media, and site visits, I meet a lot of people, many of whom insist on telling me that the outports are dying. But, never mind me, nobody is on the receiving end of this unwanted information more than McCallum residents, who habitually hear it from friends, family and others who have moved away. Like the inhabitants hadn't noticed. I suspect this need for the informer to feel smart at the expense of others is similar to what followers of professional wrestling face when non-fans insist on telling fans that their source of pleasure, "It's fake, you know?" No kidding? Or, as they say in Newfoundland: "The devil?"Scroll through Newfoundland newspapers. Whenever an article appears containing content about an isolated outport, a lot of readers post heated comments implying that every outport person deserves to rot in hell for finding themselves in a situation where government has offered them a buyout. It's unsettling to think that so many of this angry gang are out there, holding on so tightly to their badly informed beliefs. These ignorant individuals, behind anonymous names like "God Bless Britain" and "u don tno," see themselves as having a keen understanding of Canada's most complex socioeconomic issues.The groups that represents these haters - their governments - are not a lot different. The only difference is that, for governments, silence is the tool of choice because not standing up for rural populations ruffles the fewest feathers - a significant part of any government goal.I suspect that most politicians are too full of fear to act otherwise. I'm sure some of them went into service with the best intentions, but, once within their power-worshiping parties, they find themselves neutered by pompous blowhards who use intimidating tactics like humiliation to keep their doubters at bay. Otherwise, how did Premier Danny Williams consistently get away with placing smiling, clapping women - like McCallum's member of the house of assembly - behind him whenever the camera was on, in an effort to capture the female vote and the male viewer? Why would any self-respecting woman agree to such lapdog duties unless she felt she had no choice? So, while this pitiable group of politicians may not have the same desire that their voters do to repeatedly point out to outport people their eventual expiry, they do make daily decisions, behind closed doors, that contribute to the death of rural Newfoundland.

Editorial Reviews

PRAISE FOR BAY OF HOPE"It's highly descriptive of life [in McCallum], the iconography of the place, and biographies of several of its inhabitants . . . [Ward is] marvellously curious about everything from freshly published books to unexplored highways." - St. John's Telegram"It is obvious right from the opening paragraph that the author has deep feelings and respect for the people there as well as sincere empathy for them as they wrestle with the life-changing decision they have to make regarding 'resettlement'. . . To say that I enjoyed reading the book is an understatement; I highly recommend it." - The Northern PenPRAISE FOR PREVIOUS WORKS "The Lost 10 Point Night takes a look at the life of a player that took some odd twists over the years, and probably is more typical of athletes from that era than we might think. Those who have a personal connection to that time in hockey history will find this publication holds their interest nicely." - Sports Book Review Center "Overall, this is a solid book that I would recommend. It's a very easy book to read, and each individual story is kept short. I figured it was a book I'd pick up and read from time to time, but I ended up flying through it in one afternoon." - Order of Books "The Lost 10 Point Night is a mixture of Harrison's recollections, former teammates- and coaches- reflections on Harrison, and Ward's own memories of Harrison from the 1970s. Not only does it paint a picture of a man who, though not a superstar, was an honest and respectable player, but also of the author's connection to the subject as a fan . . . It is Ward's contributions that make us understand why a third-line center from the 1970s is worthy of a book." - Puck Junk