Bearing an Hourglass by Piers AnthonyBearing an Hourglass by Piers Anthony

Bearing an Hourglass

byPiers Anthony

Mass Market Paperback | September 12, 1985

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 55 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


When life seemed pointless to Norton, he accepted the position as the Incarnation of Time, even though it meant living backward from present to past. The other seemingly all-powerful incantations of Immortality--Death, Fate, War, and Nature--made him welcome. Even Satan greeted him with gifts. But he soon discovered that the gifts were cunning traps and he had become enmeshed in a complex scheme of the Evil One to destroy all that was good....
Piers Anthony, sometimes called Pier Xanthony, is the pseudonym of a Mundane character who was born in England in 1934, came to America in 1940, was naturalized in 1958, and moved to Xanth in 1977. His first story was published in 1963, and his first novel, Chthon, in 1967. His first Xanth novel, A Spell for Chameleon, won the August D...
Title:Bearing an HourglassFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 6.86 × 4.17 × 1.03 inPublished:September 12, 1985Publisher:Random House Publishing Group

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0345313151

ISBN - 13:9780345313157

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great plot Written by a man so it's a little sexist but the plot was cool
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book I really enjoyed this book and probably one of the better books in an amazing series.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Time to Read I certainly found time to read Bearing the Hourglass, a great novel that, like the other books in the Series, ties very well into the other 7 books. One of the best novels in the series, for its excellent use of time.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Incarnations of Immortality by Piers Anthony The Incarnations of Immortality by Piers Anthony, an 8 volume series. By far, one of Anthony's most popular series of fantasy books! This was the first book I read in the series and I was hooked. The visuals were strong for me and the story was interesting. All of the books tie the characters together in an intricate and well articulated story that develops progressively.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Mystery of Time Time..... Have you ever thought about the importance of time? The veil in your mind that clouds the future.... Have you ever wished you could go back in Time? Bearing an Hourglass will teach you to be careful what you wish for, for you just might get it, for you would know the future...but would you change it if you could? For if you change one thing how many other things do you unintentionaly change, and how would that affect you. The Second book in this series gives you answers to these questions and more. Time will Fly when you pick up this book, for there will never be enough to finish it.
Date published: 2002-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have for Fantasy Lovers This is one of Piers Anthony's best book and series, The chronicles of Time. Bearing an Hourglass is the second book of the series, the first one being To Ride A Pale Horse. This is a must have fo.r all fantasy lovers for you will not be able to put down this book. When one man learns of his destiny he will ultimately go to the end! Great book and I strongly recommend it
Date published: 2000-09-22

From Our Editors

Norton is challenged by Satan as he accepts the responsibility of living backward from present to past.