Beatrice Beecham's Cryptic Crypt: A Supernatural Adventure/Mystery Novel by Dave JefferyBeatrice Beecham's Cryptic Crypt: A Supernatural Adventure/Mystery Novel by Dave Jeffery

Beatrice Beecham's Cryptic Crypt: A Supernatural Adventure/Mystery Novel

byDave Jeffery

Paperback | February 3, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.53 online 
$20.95 list price
Earn 103 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

The fate of the world rests in the hands of four dysfunctional teenagers and a bunch of oddball adults. What could possibly go wrong?

This supernatural / adventure / mystery novel is perfect for fans of The Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, The Three Investigators, Goonies, Monster Club, Lost Boys, and Miss Peregrine. It might be a YA book perfect for ages 13 and older, but it’s a fun read no matter what age you are.

Dorsal Finn is a sleepy coastal town facing the gleaming Atlantic Ocean. It is a town with quaint customs and inhabited by people who are as welcoming as they are weird. It is also a place where long lost tombs hide long held secrets.

Because beneath Dorsal Finn lies The Dark Heart, an ancient and malevolent entity determined to be free of its eternal prison. It has lured allies to the town, people with corrupt agendas determined to resurrect the greatest evil history has ever known, and in doing so release The Dark Heart upon an unsuspecting world.

What could possibly go wrong?

Proudly represented by Crystal Lake Publishing – Tales from the Darkest Depths

Interview with the author:

Why is this YA Book so Special?

Dave Jeffery: Beatrice Beecham is a YA novel with a difference. Teenagers and adults are both central to the plot, and it uses high doses of humour to tackle very dark themes, including some of the terrible, very real histories of our past. Using these elements it is a book that will not only entertain teenagers and adults alike, it will also leave readers thinking about some of the deeper questions raised as the story unfolds.

Tell us a bit more about your main character.

Dave Jeffery: Beatrice Beecham is fifteen years old. She has fiery red hair and not tolerance of bullies. As well as worshipping TV chef Jamie Oliver she also has the inherent ability to find trouble. And the town of Dorsal Finn has plenty of trouble lurking beneath its calm and placid exterior. Beatrice discovers the town has plans for her too, naming her as the Incorruptible Heart, the arch nemesis of the malevolent entity imprisoned beneath Dorsal Finn itself!

Do you have any other Beatrice Beecham books?

Dave Jeffery: Beatrice features in two other novels that describe how she arrived at Dorsal Finn: Beatrice Beecham’s Fearsome Feast and Beatrice Beecham’s Fete of Fate. She also features in a collection of short stories titled Beatrice Beecham’s Houseful of Horrors.

What will Beatrice be up to next?

Dave Jeffery: Beatrice will return in a new novel, Ship of Shadows, published by Crystal Lake Publishing in September 2017.

Title:Beatrice Beecham's Cryptic Crypt: A Supernatural Adventure/Mystery NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:414 pages, 7.81 × 5.06 × 0.85 inPublished:February 3, 2017Publisher:Crystal Lake PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1684187524

ISBN - 13:9781684187522

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Beatrice Beacham lives in the coastal town of Dorsal Finn, with her parents and younger brother and she and her friends - Patience, Elmo and Lucas - have a mystery solving group called The Newshounds. Opening with a prologue set in Austria 1941, this mixes Nazi’s, folklore, the legend of Atlantis and a mysterious youth group to excellent effect - Jeffery has taken the youth-sleuth genre beloved of so many of us (my favourite, of course, was The Three Investigators series) and updated it seamlessly to the present day, topping the thrills with a sassy, feisty heroine and her group of smart friends. The town - which is not as it seems to be - is well described and atmospheric, the supporting cast are wonderfully eccentric and the plot ticks along, aided by a gripping pace and some tense sequences. This is, I think, the fourth in the YA series but the first I’ve read and it’s not quite standalone - previous events are mentioned and one reveal, while cleverly done, featured a character I hadn’t encountered before. But that’s my fault, not the books and this is a cracking, tightly wrapped mystery that delivers everything it should. Well written, pacey and intriguing, this is a winner and I’d recommend it.” – Mark West, British Fantasy Award nominated author of DRIVE