Becoming Mrs. Lewis: The Improbable Love Story Of Joy Davidman And C. S. Lewis by Patti CallahanBecoming Mrs. Lewis: The Improbable Love Story Of Joy Davidman And C. S. Lewis by Patti Callahan

Becoming Mrs. Lewis: The Improbable Love Story Of Joy Davidman And C. S. Lewis

byPatti Callahan

Paperback | October 2, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.99

Earn 125 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Now a USA TODAY and Publishers Weekly bestseller!

“Patti Callahan seems to have found the story she was born to tell in this tale of unlikely friendship turned true love between Joy Davidman and C. S. Lewis, that tests the bounds of faith and radically alters both of their lives. Their connection comes to life in Callahan’s expert hands, revealing a connection so persuasive and affecting, we wonder if there’s another like it in history. Luminous and penetrating.”

—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife

In a most improbable friendship, she found love. In a world where women were silenced, she found her voice. 

From New York Times bestselling author Patti Callahan comes an exquisite novel of Joy Davidman, the woman C. S. Lewis called “my whole world.” When poet and writer Joy Davidman began writing letters to C. S. Lewis—known as Jack—she was looking for spiritual answers, not love. Love, after all, wasn’t holding together her crumbling marriage. Everything about New Yorker Joy seemed ill-matched for an Oxford don and the beloved writer of Narnia, yet their minds bonded over their letters. Embarking on the adventure of her life, Joy traveled from America to England and back again, facing heartbreak and poverty, discovering friendship and faith, and against all odds, finding a love that even the threat of death couldn’t destroy. 

In this masterful exploration of one of the greatest love stories of modern times, we meet a brilliant writer, a fiercely independent mother, and a passionate woman who changed the life of this respected author and inspired books that still enchant us and change us. Joy lived at a time when women weren’t meant to have a voice—and yet her love for Jack gave them both voices they didn’t know they had. 

At once a fascinating historical novel and a glimpse into a writer’s life, Becoming Mrs. Lewis is above all a love story—a love of literature and ideas and a love between a husband and wife that, in the end, was not impossible at all.

“Patti Callahan Henry breathes wondrous fresh life into one of the greatest literary love stories of all time . . . The result is a deeply moving story about love and loss that is transformative and magical.”

—Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan’s Tale

 “I was swept along, filled with hope, and entirely beguiled, not only by the life lived behind the veil of C. S. Lewis’s books but also by the woman who won his heart. A literary treasure from first page to last.”

—Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours

 “Profoundly evocative, revealing an intimate view of a woman whose love and story had never been fully told . . . until now . . . Becoming Mrs. Lewis is a tour de force and the must-read of the season!”

—Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author of Beach House Reunion

 “Patti Callahan somehow inhabits Davidman, taking her readers inside the writer’s hungry mind and heart.  We keenly feel Davidman’s struggle to become her own person at a time (the 1950s) when women had few options . . . An astonishing work of biographical fiction."

—Lynn Cullen, bestselling author of Mrs. Poe

Patti Callahan (who also writes as Patti Callahan Henry) is a New York Times bestselling author. Patti was a finalist in the Townsend Prize for Fiction, has been an Indie Next Pick, twice an OKRA pick, and a multiple nominee for the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA) Novel of the Year. Her work has also been included in s...
Loading
Title:Becoming Mrs. Lewis: The Improbable Love Story Of Joy Davidman And C. S. LewisFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:416 pages, 8.3 × 5.5 × 1.18 inShipping dimensions:8.3 × 5.5 × 1.18 inPublished:October 2, 2018Publisher:Thomas NelsonLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0785225811

ISBN - 13:9780785225812

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting read. I started out loving this book and I have to say it captured my attention throughout. Not boring and lots of interesting tidbits about CSLewis. But the editor really should have eliminated 1/4 of the inane overly romantic dialogue. ‘Does he love me, he’s helping me on with my coat I think he cares’ ...on and on...way too much. If you were curious about CSLewis’s life and his friends then you would enjoy it. A good summer read.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a recommended read The thing I am most grateful for, in having read this book, is that I borrowed it from the library, rather than buying it. I really did not much care for the main character. A couple of reasons why I did not find her compelling/sympathetic: a) her husband was an alcoholic and she drank like a fish while he was attending AA meetings and trying to stay sober. She drank like a fish a lot of the way through this book, often with her alcoholic husband and alcoholic brother-in-law-to-be. b) She left her children for months on end, leaving them in the care of her abusive husband and cousin. When reunited with her kids she swore never to be parted from them again. Well....a few short months later she ships them off to boarding school in England, even though they have been whisked away from all that is familiar to them, and express that they do not wish to be separated from her, yet again. I found her self-centered and difficult to like.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vivid, compelling, and immersive! Becoming Mrs. Lewis is an intriguing interpretation about the life of Joy Davidman, the American writer and poet who through a shared conviction of Christianity and love of writing became a close confidant, friend, and wife of the famous fantasy writer, C.S. Lewis until her untimely death from breast cancer in 1960. It is a story about familial responsibilities, strength, friendship, kindness, encouragement, support, passion, desire, loss, and love. Davidman was a strong, intelligent, forthright woman who not only found peace, contentment, and fulfillment through Christianity in midlife but also found her true self. The prose is clear and precise. And the plot takes us back to the late 1940s to the early 1960s, from Ossining, NY to Oxford, England and tells the story of a life filled with loneliness, abuse, poverty, grace, riches, success, motherhood, and romance. Becoming Mrs. Lewis is a well written, captivating, rich story by Callahan that does a remarkable job of highlighting her incredible knowledge and research into this complex, historical figure who is often unknown, forgotten or overlooked.
Date published: 2018-10-10

Editorial Reviews

'Callahan crafts a masterpiece that details the friendship and ultimate romance between the real Davidman and Lewis . . . Fans of Karen White and Mary Alice Monroe will enjoy this book. Callahan's writing is riveting and her characters spring to life to create a magical and literary experience that won't be soon forgotten.'