Before and After the Darkness

bySusan Noble

Hardcover | July 21, 2014

Before and After the Darkness by Susan Noble
Earn 110 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Before and After the Darkness is the third collection of poems by Susan Noble, following The Dream of Stairs: A Poem Cycle and Inside the Stretch of My Heart. To mark the fortieth anniversary of Susan's death, this volume is being published in hardback, paperback and Kindle, making all her poems publicly available for the first time. The Dream of Stairs was privately printed as a posthumous memorial volume in 1975, a year after Susan's untimely death in 1974 at the age of 31. Having announced with typically light-hearted self-depreciation that 'The muse has struck me ', Susan wrote the poems in batches of half a dozen or more from 1965 onwards in what she described as manic bursts of creativity. But these poems are anything but light-hearted, and even a first reading will reveal clearly that levity is not on the menu in a universe 'Where there are no jokes / And people do not pretend.' Susan's output in the last ten years of her life was prolific, but when it came to compiling the poems, after a good deal of deliberation, a clear thematic structure and underlying development seemed to dictate the final order of that original poignant collection. Many of the poems in Before and After the Darkness were triggered by the quotidian experience of living and working in central London in the late 1960s and early 1970s, yet beneath the fragile surface of her acute observations of domestic and office life in the city, intensely spiritual insights are being played out, sometimes delicately, sometimes shockingly, but always movingly. The poems in this volume were written in the early 1970s, like those in Inside the Stretch of My Heart, and include a number of poems written in 1973 and 1974 in the months before Susan's death. Two further companion volumes are also being published: A Flock of Blackbirds (selected novellas and short stories); and her novel, Drifting Between Empty Tramlines. Profits from the sales of all six volumes are being donated to three charities: Mind, the Samaritans and Sane. Facsimiles of the original typescripts and manuscripts are available online at About the author Brought up in South London, Susan Noble was the second of three children. Her childhood was enriched by being part of our large and closely-knit Jewish family. Unfortunately stricken by polio (then known as infantile paralysis) in her early years, Susan went through life with a degree of physical handicap which she was to overcome with courage and determination. Educated at Croydon High School, Susan studied English at Somerville College, Oxford. After graduating, Susan worked in London, first at the Royal National Institute for the Blind, dictating books for transcription into Braille, and later at the National Central Library in London, where she qualified as a Chartered Librarian. Susan's exceptional sensitivity was reflected in the prolific outpouring of poems to be found in The Dream of Stairs, Inside the Stretch of My Heart and Before and After the Darkness. In these intense, haunting poems, she chronicles her personal response to the world around her, while vividly portraying the inner landscape of her mental and emotional struggle.
Title:Before and After the DarknessFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:96 pages, 8.5 X 5.5 X 0.38 inShipping dimensions:96 pages, 8.5 X 5.5 X 0.38 inPublished:July 21, 2014Publisher:Aesop PublicationsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1910301124

ISBN - 13:9781910301128

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: