Behold the Bones by Natalie C. ParkerBehold the Bones by Natalie C. Parker

Behold the Bones

byNatalie C. Parker

Hardcover | February 23, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.23 online 
$21.99 list price save 26%
Earn 81 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale—perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver.

In this companion to Beware the Wild, the book New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White called “American myth at its very best,” Natalie C. Parker takes readers on a journey back to an eerie Louisiana swamp town.

Candace “Candy” Pickens has been obsessed with the swamp lore of her tiny Louisiana town for . . . forever. Name any ghostly swamp figure and Candy will recite the entire tale in a way that will curl your toes and send chills up your spine.

That doesn’t mean Candy’s a believer, however. But with swamp haunts appearing in town every day, a suspicious new family in town, and her own mind starting to betray her, Candy must come to terms with the one piece of swamp lore she’s never heard before. It’s a tale that’s more truth than myth, and may hold all the answers . . . and its roots are in Candy’s own family tree.

Title:Behold the BonesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.17 inPublished:February 23, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062241559

ISBN - 13:9780062241559

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Parker returns to Sticks with another knock-out BEWARE THE WILD was my favourite book of 2014, so I was a *little* nervous BUT THEN EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL. I really like this book a lot. Parker is so good at putting words together, which sounds like a ridiculous thing to say about a writer, because: obviously, but never once do her metaphors stumble. Never does her prose over-reach or get tangled up in its own vines. It's just perfection, and I have no idea how she does it. Candy, who was a side character in BTW and moves to the protagonist spot in BTB, is amazing. I love her for her suredness and her aggressiveness. I love that she's never mean or petty, even though she's kind of a jerk sometimes, and has plenty of opportunity. She loves hard, and I love her for it. I love the way she sees the world, and the way she comes to see the world (vague, yes, but: spoilers). So many girls in this book. Heck, so many boys in this book. All of them wonderful.
Date published: 2016-03-01

Editorial Reviews

“The creepy, oppressive atmosphere from the first book is just as well drawn here, and folklore weaves with horror to create a gripping read.”