Being Fishkill by Ruth LehrerBeing Fishkill by Ruth Lehrer

Being Fishkill

byRuth Lehrer

Hardcover | November 14, 2017

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.35 online 
$23.99 list price save 11%
Earn 107 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need be — until a thwarted lunch theft introduces her to strange, sunny Duck-Duck and a chance for a new start.

Born in the backseat of a moving car, Carmel Fishkill was unceremoniously pushed into a world that refuses to offer her security, stability, love. At age thirteen, she begins to fight back. Carmel Fishkill becomes Fishkill Carmel, who deflects her tormenters with a strong left hook and conceals her secrets from teachers and social workers. But Fishkill’s fierce defenses falter when she meets eccentric optimist Duck-Duck Farina, and soon they, along with Duck-Duck’s mother, Molly, form a tentative family, even as Fishkill struggles to understand her place in it. This fragile new beginning is threatened by the reappearance of Fishkill’s unstable mother — and by unfathomable tragedy. Poet Ruth Lehrer’s young adult debut is a stunning, revelatory look at what defines and sustains "family." And, just as it does for Fishkill, meeting Duck-Duck Farina and her mother will leave readers forever changed.

About The Author

Ruth Lehrer is a poet, author, and American Sign Language interpreter. She lives in the woods of western Massachusetts.
My Book of Ruth: Reflections of a Jewish Girl - a memoir in 36 essays
My Book of Ruth: Reflections of a Jewish Girl - a memoir in 36 essays

by Ruth Lehrer

$6.29$6.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:Being FishkillFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inPublished:November 14, 2017Publisher:Candlewick PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0763684422

ISBN - 13:9780763684426

Customer Reviews of Being Fishkill

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

A desperately sad story of profound abuse is softened somewhat by the highly intelligent Duck-Duck and her loving mother. But neither love nor grief is linear. Fishkill's guilt, anger, and abandonment only intensify as the story unfolds, leaving her desperate and unsure where to turn...Abuse is eclipsed by love in this moving novel.—Kirkus ReviewsLehrer pulls at heartstrings in her thought-provoking debut...a complex and well-plotted work.—BooklistPoet Lehrer’s YA debut is a beautifully written and authentic look at rural poverty, and a great choice for fans of Kody Keplinger’s Run and Sarah Nicole Lemon’s Done Dirt Cheap.—B&N Teen Blog