Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

Paperback | January 4, 2011

byKathryn Schulz

not yet rated|write a review

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”
—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

<_o3a_p>

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.<_o3a_p>

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.44 online
$19.99 list price (save 22%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New PlanetIn the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in ...

From the Jacket

To err is human. Yet most of us go through life assuming (and sometimes insisting) that we are right about nearly everything, from the origins of the universe to how to load the dishwasher. In Being Wrong, journalist Kathryn Schulz explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken. Drawing on thinkers as...

Kathryn Schulz is a journalist whose work has appeared in theNew York Times Magazine,Rolling Stone,Foreign Policy, theNation, theBoston Globe, and the "Freakonomics" blog of theNew York Times. She lives in New York's Hudson Valley.

other books by Kathryn Schulz

En defensa del error: Un ensayo sobre el arte de equivocarse
En defensa del error: Un ensayo sobre el arte de equivo...

Kobo ebook|Oct 9 2015

$7.69 online$9.99list price(save 23%)
Oeps!: waarom fouten maken ons grootste talent is
Oeps!: waarom fouten maken ons grootste talent is

Kobo ebook|Jan 24 2013

$11.29 online$14.63list price(save 22%)
Format:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.94 inPublished:January 4, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061176052

ISBN - 13:9780061176050

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“An amazing book. . . . I don’t know when I last read a book as stimulating, as thoughtful, and as much fun to read.”