Better Than Perfect

Hardcover | February 17, 2015

byMelissa Kantor

not yet rated|write a review

From the acclaimed author of Maybe One Day, Melissa Kantor, comes a poignant coming-of-age story that skillfully captures the singular experience of being a teenage girl. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

Juliet Newman has it all. A picture-perfect family; a handsome, loving boyfriend; and a foolproof life plan: ace her SATs, get accepted into Harvard early decision, and live happily ever after.

But when her dad moves out and her mom loses it, Juliet begins questioning the rules she's always lived by. And to make everything even more complicated there's Declan, the gorgeous boy who makes her feel alive and spontaneous—and who's totally off-limits. Torn between the life she always thought she wanted and one she never knew was possible, Juliet begins to wonder: What if perfect isn't all it's cracked up to be?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.62 online
$21.99 list price (save 24%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

From the acclaimed author of Maybe One Day, Melissa Kantor, comes a poignant coming-of-age story that skillfully captures the singular experience of being a teenage girl. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.Juliet Newman has it all. A picture-perfect family; a handsome, loving boyfriend; and a ...

From the Jacket

Juliet Newman has it all. A picture-perfect family; a handsome, loving boyfriend; and a foolproof life plan: ace her SATs, get accepted into Harvard early action, and live happily ever after.But when her dad moves out and her mom loses it, Juliet begins questioning the rules she's always lived by. Suddenly it's difficult for her to rem...

Melissa Kantor is the author ofMaybe One Day;Confessions of a Not It Girl, an ALA Booklist Best Romance Novel for Youth;If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince?, a YALSA Teens Top Ten Pick;The Breakup Bible, an ALA Best Books for Young Adults nominee;Girlfriend Material, a Junior Library Guild selection; andThe Darlings Are Fo...

other books by Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day
Maybe One Day

Paperback|Jan 20 2015

$11.82 online$12.50list price(save 5%)
Breakup Bible, The
Breakup Bible, The

Kobo ebook|Aug 15 2010

$7.99

The Darlings in Love
The Darlings in Love

Kobo ebook|Jan 10 2012

$7.99

see all books by Melissa Kantor
Format:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 inPublished:February 17, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062279238

ISBN - 13:9780062279231

Customer Reviews of Better Than Perfect

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from slightly disappointing Better than Perfect was an interesting book. I liked how the whole book centered around a normal girl's problems.. problems that we have all at least faced at one point in our lives. What I failed to really notice is the emergence of a boy, when she already has a boyfriend, and the overstepping of that line into something that I will never condone or even want to understand.. and that is cheating. Juliet comes from a rich family but her life is far from perfect. Her dad left her mom (and herself) and now her mom is drowning her sorrows with alcohol and pills. Juliet's life is falling apart in front of her eyes and now she doesn't know if it was ever what she wanted. She is on the harvard track with her amazing boyfriend (guys, i really really love him), and she's a straight A, extra circular load up kind of student. She doesn't know if this is what she wants anymore.. enter this boy, Declan.. I did not understand how this random boy's introduction made her question everything.. or why he was even a main part of the book. He barely shows up and when he does, it's like Juliet loses all logic. I didn't think it was fair the way she was pushing away her boyfriend or the way she was handling her situation. Half the time I was frustrated with her keeping everything to herself and wanting her life to stay the same but at the same time wanting it to change. I was all right with that.. people at this age question everything in life.. but I hated how she concisely knew she was hurting her boyfriend but went ahead with it and didn't give a crap because she was also hurt. That logic is really unlikable. I like books where teenagers act like teenagers… but at the same time, I like books were there is growth.. because if there isn't, is there even a story to tell? people might tell me "but you just said you like books where teenagers act like teenagers".. but here's the thing.. there are some actions that are unforgivable to me, one of them is cheating. I can't support, or even care anymore about a person who does such a thing. I am all for reading about dislikable characters.. but when their initial motive and the reason they persist to act in such a way is confusing and unanswered.. i question my desire to even continue reading the book. However all in all, even though I really hated that part of the book, I do like Melissa Kantor's writing. My finishing the book and giving it 3 stars is evident enough how I appreciate her writing style. I personally won't recommend this book to anyone because I don't support cheating, but if people don't care about that aspect of the book, then I say go for it.
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so perfect Juliet Newman’s life is going exactly according to plan. She has a perfect family, a perfect boyfriend, and the perfect plan for her future: ace the SATs, get accepted to Harvard, get her happily ever after. That was before her dad left, her mom can’t cope, and Juliet’s careful plan begins to unravel. To make things worse, new boy Declan understands her in ways no one else does and makes her second guess her perfect future. This book ended up being a pretty quick read that still dealt with some major issues. The plot really focused on Juliet and the way she dealt with with the changes in her life and her growth. I found myself empathizing with Juliet through a lot of the book. She put so much pressure on herself to succeed, to be the person she thought she needed to be, and she never really gave any thought to the person she wanted to be. She was forced to do a lot of soul-searching. On top of her perfect plan failing apart, she also had to deal with other family drama, friends, relationship drama, and also what making changes to her plan meant for the present. One thing I couldn’t get passed was the cheating and the lack of consequences for it. Juliet and Declan did seem to really get each other and he did open her eye to things she’s never considered, but Jason, her boyfriend, was also a great guy who deserved a lot better than how Juliet treated him. I felt like he was almost being made out to be the bad guy because he didn’t understand why Juliet was making so many out of character decisions and that gave her the right to go be with Declan, who did understand. I just couldn’t get behind it. I could have been alright if there had been consequences since cheating does happen but it felt like Juliet got away with it. I did like the side story of Declan and his family having a band. That was a lot of fun and I really liked the dynamic of it, at least the little we got to see. I would have liked to have seen more of them. It felt like there was more to their story and I would have read that. As mentioned, it was a quick read. It wasn’t a long book and the pacing was pretty fast so it was easy to finish it in a day. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-01-30