Between Us And The Moon

Hardcover | June 30, 2015

byRebecca Maizel

not yet rated|write a review

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation.

Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she's also lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett.

But after a traumatic end to the school year, Sarah goes to Cape Cod for the summer with her family, determined to grow up. It's there that she meets gorgeous, older college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl like Scarlett. He thinks she's older, too—and she doesn't correct him.

For Sarah, it's a summer of firsts. Before she knows what's happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this romantic and heartfelt coming-of-age novel about how life and love are impossible to predict.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.07 online
$21.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation. Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she's also lived in the shad...

From the Jacket

It's easy to watch the world from afar. But to fall in love you have to live in it. Ever since Sarah was born, she's lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. A budding astronomer, Sarah's days are devoted to math club and the boy she's loved since kindergarten, Tucker. Her nights are spent observing the vast univers...

Rebecca Maizel hails from Rhode Island, where she teaches literature at her alma mater the Wheeler School. She tries not to force her students to read her books, though. Rebecca is the author of several published novels for young adults, and recently received an MFA in Writing for Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts.

other books by Rebecca Maizel

Stolen Nights: A Vampire Queen Novel
Stolen Nights: A Vampire Queen Novel

Paperback|Jan 29 2013

$9.85 online$10.99list price(save 10%)
AMES SOEURS T2
AMES SOEURS T2

Paperback|Nov 5 2012

$25.95

Infinite Days
Infinite Days

Paperback|Aug 3 2010

$10.43 online$10.99list price(save 5%)
see all books by Rebecca Maizel
Format:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.21 inPublished:June 30, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062327615

ISBN - 13:9780062327611

Customer Reviews of Between Us And The Moon

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Riveting Young Adult Romance! "Between Us And The Moon" is a young adult contemporary romance set in Cape Cod where Sarah Levin and her family vacation each year at her wealthy aunt's house. Unlike her eighteen year old sister Scarlett who's preparing to study at the Julliard School in New York Sarah eagerly plans to track a comet, watch the stars and apply for a scholarship until her boyfriend Tucker Jackson who she's loved since kindergarten shatters her dreams in his desire "to experiment" with his social life and arguing that she only watches the world but doesn't live in it. Shattered Sarah rebels and initiates "the Scarlett Experiment" determined to be more like her beautiful and popular sister. Adopting Scarlett's clothes and rhetoric she catches the eye of nineteen year old Andrew Davis who not only makes her feel special but loves the geeky quirks that make her different from any other girl he's known. But as their romance quickens her lies threaten to destroy their love, bringing them both a lot of pain. In a flowing writing style Rebecca Maizel weaves a well-developed plot that revolves around two troubled teens; one who hates living in the shadow of her older sister, and the other who lost a friend in a tragic accident and can't move on. Although the main plot deals with the romance between a sixteen year old girl and a nineteen year old boy the forbidden aspect of their love seems to arise from a stigma related to the difference in their ages when in reality any issues would result from her drinking illegally and from his obvious maturity having been out of school for two years and living on his own. Yet there are underlying themes that are very real in this story like sibling rivalry, family relationships and the crushing impact of grief. With an emotional-intensity often broken by snatches of humor Sarah nicknamed "Bean" goes on a journey of self-discovery learning lessons about herself and her family as she realizes that life and love can be fickle. The tension heats up in this mesmerizing tale with a hurricane that not only ruins her sister's going- away party but flings her into a steamy situation that brings heartache after Sarah's lies are revealed. Quickly progressing to an intense ending, the climax seems to be somewhat anti-climatic with more questions than answers. Sarah Levin is a highly intelligent teen with a logical, hyper-detailed mind who loves math and astronomy. She's not very social, fearing rejection but in loving Andrew changes becoming more confident and outspoken, realizing that there is more to life than science. In contrast Scarlett Levin is a graceful beauty who's overconfident, popular and funny, but very phony. Tucker Jackson Sarah's best friend for nine years is a geek who's insecure and wants to be well-liked, choosing to dump Sarah to make his dream a reality. Sensitive, good-natured and loving Andrew Davis is haunted by the death of a friend but finds solace and an anchor in Sarah. When he discovers she's been lying about her age and going to MIT, his pain turns his love to disgust. All these characters and many more add passion, depth and power to the captivating dramatic events that end with a secret, small smile. Reminiscent of Jenny Han's young adult romances, "Between Us And The Moon" is an engaging story from beginning to end and has to be read to be enjoyed.
Date published: 2015-07-24

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“With its themes of confidence and discovering one’s true self, this summer romance is a great choice for teens.”