Bitter Paradise: A Dr. Zol Szabo Medical Mystery

May 26, 2020|
Bitter Paradise: A Dr. Zol Szabo Medical Mystery by Ross Pennie
$19.95
Paperback
Earn 100 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Fans of Bones and Coroner will love Dr. Zol Szabo, a doctor who is out to solve medical mysteries before it''s too late

After weeks of torture at the hands of Syria''s secret police, the bombing of his villa in the ancient city of Aleppo, and the murder of his daughter, trauma surgeon Dr. Hosam Khousa flees his fractured homeland with his wife and son. They make their way to Canada as refugees, where Hosam is forced to trade his prestigious scalpel for a barber''s humble clippers. Though he aches to regain his once- prominent surgical career, cutting hair in Hamilton, Ontario, seems a safe way to make a living, until a fellow Syrian is slashed to death in the barbershop. The ensuing gangland vendetta entangles Hosam and threatens his family.

At the same time, epidemic investigators Dr. Zol Szabo and Natasha Sharma are battling an outbreak of vaccine-resistant polio that has struck the city with terrifying fury. When Hosam visits a friend clinging to life in the intensive care unit, he spots something that might help the investigation but will ruin his chance of retaking his place in the operating theater. The Great White North is not the sanctuary he expected, but it''s a bitter paradise he must learn to navigate.

Ross Pennie has been a jungle surgeon, pediatrician, infectious- diseases specialist, professor, and novelist. He lives with his family in Southern Ontario.
Loading
Title:Bitter Paradise: A Dr. Zol Szabo Medical Mystery
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:352 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.8 in
Shipping dimensions:352 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.8 in
Published:May 26, 2020
Publisher:ECW Press
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781770414655

Recently Viewed
|