Bitter Remedy: A Commissario Alec Blume Novel by Conor FitzgeraldBitter Remedy: A Commissario Alec Blume Novel by Conor Fitzgerald

Bitter Remedy: A Commissario Alec Blume Novel

byConor Fitzgerald

Paperback | September 1, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.00

Earn 100 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Don't miss . . . [this] fifth episode in an always enjoyable series." —Literary Review
     Commissario Alec Blume, on leave for health problems and fleeing his partner, Caterina, and their newborn daughter, retreats to a villa somewhere in central Italy, where he enrolls in a natural remedies class conducted by a young woman named Silvana.
     But rather than finding comfort, Blume becomes increasingly ill—and ill at ease— in his new environment and immediately makes an enemy of Niki, Silvana's ambiguous fiancé. Then a Romanian girl who works in Niki's nightclub comes to Blume and asks for his help in finding her friend, Alina, who has disappeared. And Blume, isolated and sick, unadvisedly delves into the dark histories of the people around him.
CONOR FITZGERALD has lived in Ireland, the United Kingdom, and the United States, and currently lives in Rome. He has produced a current affairs journal for foreign embassies based in Rome, and founded a successful translation company. This is the fifth in his Commissario Alec Blume series.
Loading
Title:Bitter Remedy: A Commissario Alec Blume NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.21 × 5.54 × 0.89 inPublished:September 1, 2015Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1620406861

ISBN - 13:9781620406861

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"There's an element of the old-fashioned "golden age" mystery here, with Blume like an amateur sleuth bumbling his way around a picture-postcard setting, trying to lay to rest his own ghosts even as he excavates some long-buried skeletons. The incorruptible Blume's efforts to find the truth are given a blackly comic sheen courtesy of his spiky personality." -Irish Times"Don't miss . . . [this] fifth episode in an always enjoyable series." -Literary Review"[Alec Blume] says the wrong things repeatedly, alienates both loved ones and colleagues, and acts impetuously and often unwisely. And, yet, he cares about people . . . and he is a shrewd judge of and dangerously sympathetic toward human frailty . . . He is utterly fascinating, his human shortcomings mirroring our own and forcing us to root for him. If you're drawn to Andrea Camilleri's [Salvo Montalbano], you'll be equally hooked by Alec Blume." -Bill Ott, Booklist, on The Commisario Alec Blume series"Fitzgerald has created another gripping mystery featuring the irresistibly stubborn Blume . . . Readers cannot help but root for him . . . Fans of Donna Leon or Andrea Camilleri are bound to enjoy." -Shelf Awareness on The Commisario Alec Blume series