Black Boy White School by Brian F. WalkerBlack Boy White School by Brian F. Walker

Black Boy White School

byBrian F. Walker

Hardcover | January 3, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

Earn 110 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in—or not—<_u13a_p>Anthony “Ant” Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.

Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him “Tony,” assumes he’s from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.

As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he’s in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.

In debut author Brian F. Walker’s honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?

Brian F. Walker grew up in East Cleveland, where he ran with gangsters, drug dealers, and thugs until age fourteen, when he was sent to an elite boarding school and a world he had no way of understanding. For the past seventeen years he has taught high school English, coached basketball, and served as an admissions officer at a prep sc...
Loading
Title:Black Boy White SchoolFormat:HardcoverDimensions:256 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.89 inPublished:January 3, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061914835

ISBN - 13:9780061914836

Reviews