Bone in the Throat

Paperback | September 18, 2000

byAnthony Bourdain

not yet rated|write a review

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next. With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime.

In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

"A prodigiously self-assured first novel. . . the author's comic vision goes beyond original. It is deliciously depraved."-The New York Times Book Review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.00

Out of stock online

From the Publisher

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next. With the ...

Anthony Bourdain is the executive chef at Brasserie Les Halles in New York City. He is the author of Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly and Gone Bamboo

other books by Anthony Bourdain

Appetites: A Cookbook
Appetites: A Cookbook

Hardcover|Oct 25 2016

$28.20 online$46.50list price(save 39%)
Kitchen Confidential: Insider's Edition
Kitchen Confidential: Insider's Edition

Paperback|Jun 4 2013

$18.15 online$19.95list price(save 9%)
No Reservations: Around The World On An Empty Stomach
No Reservations: Around The World On An Empty Stomach

Hardcover|Nov 6 2007

$32.50 online$44.95list price(save 27%)
see all books by Anthony Bourdain
Format:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 8.24 × 5.68 × 0.84 inPublished:September 18, 2000Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1582341028

ISBN - 13:9781582341026

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Bone in the Throat

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad story, but... Would have been 5 stars, but the people who transcribed this version of the book can't spell for beans
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bone in the Throat Boring. I thought I would try it because I love his non-fiction books and I like the kitchen scenes. The rest? Cheesy. Over the top wise guys and kind of predictable.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Anthony Bourdain is best known as a chef and the author of Kitchen Confidential. This novel is his first attempt at fiction and it tells the story of Tommy, nephew to a mobster but trying to break away from that lifestyle and make one as a chef. He has a job working as a sous-chef at a fancy French restaurant, but his uncle Sally got him that job. Tommy becomes close to the head chef, Michael, who has a methadone addiction and he also learns that Sally has his hand in the restaurant, with the owner owing him business. As the FBI closes in, they try to squeeze anyone they can about more information on Sally and his cronies. Since Bourdain knows all the ins and outs of the restaurant business, it's no surprise that his first fiction novel focuses around a restaurant. That's really where his writing shines, when the speaks about making food and being in the kitchen. The mobster/mystery part of the book was a bit lack-luster. It could have been any old book about mobsters. I would read one of Bourdain's non-fiction books but I don't think I'd pick up another of his fiction works.
Date published: 2012-05-09