Born Wicked: The Cahill Witch Chronicles, Book One

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Born Wicked: The Cahill Witch Chronicles, Book One

by Jessica Spotswood

Penguin Young Readers Group | January 3, 2013 | Trade Paperback

Born Wicked: The Cahill Witch Chronicles, Book One is rated 3 out of 5 by 1.
A gorgeous, witchy, romantic fantasy by a debut author! Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and the Beautiful Creatures series!

Everybody thinks Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they're witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship--or an early grave. Then Cate finds her mother's diary, and uncovers a secret that could spell her family's destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra. But if what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren't safe--not even from each other.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.31 × 5.5 × 0.86 in

Published: January 3, 2013

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0142421871

ISBN - 13: 9780142421871

save 5%

  • In stock online
$10.99 list price

$10.43 ea online

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Definitely Need More of this Series! (Originally Posted on Sleepless Reads; actual rating 3.5 stars) (Originally posted on Sleepless Reads; actual rating 3.5 stars) I actually finished this book before the New Year, but I've been putting off this review because this book was so beautifully written, and it brought out so many emotions that I just didn't want it to end. Even though I have the sequel. This book didn't put me in mourning period, but it did bring out my feels. I made a lot of assumptions about the characters and the plot, and although I got many of them right, there were a lot of things I wasn't expecting. For example, I never thought that Cat's middle sister, Maura, would be the vain and attention-seeking one. I seriously thought that that was going to be the youngest one, Tess, but it was Maura. I think the reason why is because in the first chapter, she was described as the bookish one, so yeah...That's why I made the assumption. But overall, the book was really interesting. There was so much plot and so much development with the characters, that I automatically fell in love with the book. Cat is 16, and the eldest Cahill girl. Unlike her younger siblings, she's average: she's learned Latin, but hasn't mastered it like her 12 year old sister Tess. She reads books, but isn't a book worm like her middle sister, Maura. She takes it upon herself to be the mother figure to her siblings ever since their mom died three years prior to when the story starts. You can tell from the story she's made herself become boring and strict to keep her siblings in line and protect them from the Brotherhood who are against witchcraft. I liked her, and she was an enjoyable character. What made me like her a lot as a narrator is that she's strong, and I like strong female characters. Plot wise, there was a lot going on this book, and the way that Spotswood ended this book was just so...so...Moffat like. I knew that something was going to happen in the end that would ruin her engagement, but I didn't expect it to be that! (If you've read the book, you'd get it. So go read the book!). I knew that it was too good to be true, but wow, I wasn't expecting that Spotswood. Despite that little feels fest at the end of the book, it ended on a good note and I can't wait to start reading my ARC of Star Cursed
Date published: 2014-06-23

– More About This Product –

Born Wicked: The Cahill Witch Chronicles, Book One

Born Wicked: The Cahill Witch Chronicles, Book One

by Jessica Spotswood

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.31 × 5.5 × 0.86 in

Published: January 3, 2013

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0142421871

ISBN - 13: 9780142421871

From the Publisher

A gorgeous, witchy, romantic fantasy by a debut author! Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and the Beautiful Creatures series!

Everybody thinks Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they're witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship--or an early grave. Then Cate finds her mother's diary, and uncovers a secret that could spell her family's destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra. But if what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren't safe--not even from each other.

About the Author

Jessica Spotswood lives in Washington, D.C., with her playwright husband and a cuddly cat named Monkey. She's never happier than when she's immersed in a good story, and swoony kissing scenes are her favorite.

Editorial Reviews

"A tale so captivating you don't want it to end." — Andrea Cremer, New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade series

"An intriguing story of witchcraft, family responsibility, and unrequited love." — Booklist

"...the fate of the Cahill sisters inspires genuine dread by the time the cliffhanger ending arrives." — Publishers Weekly