Breaking Sky

Paperback | February 21, 2016

byCori McCarthy

not yet rated|write a review
She lives for speed. She'll die for love. A high-flying, adrenaline-fueled thriller for fans of Divergent and The Young Elites. Breaking Sky is an action-packed thrill ride." -Carrie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Need series. Chase Harcourt, call sign "Nyx", isn't one to play it safe. America is locked in a cold war - and the country's best hope is the elite teen fighter pilots of the United Star Academy. Chase is one of onlytwo daredevil pilots chosen to fly an experimental "Streaker" jet. But few know the pain and loneliness of her past. All anyone cares about is that Chase aces the upcoming Streaker trials, proving the prototype jet can knock the enemy out of the sky. But as the world tilts toward war, Chase cracks open a military secret. There's a third Streaker, whose young hotshot pilot, Tristan, can match her on the ground and in the clouds. Chase doesn't play well with others. But to save her country, she may just have to put her life in the hands of the competition. Breaking Sky is a gritty coming of age tale with tons of action, a fascinating dystopian society, humor, friendship, romance and heart-stopping, high-stakes flying that will leave you on the edge of your seat. Breaking Sky has also been optioned for film by Sony Pictures. "Smart, exciting, confident-and quite possibly the next Big Thing."-Kirkus "Had me in its grip from take-off to landing. Chase is a kick-butt female and the swoon-worthy flyboys kept me up way past my bedtime." -Joy N. Hensley, author of Rites of Passage "A non-stop thrill ride? will keep you reading at the speed of sound. Breaking Sky is one of the most exciting reads of the year." -Thomas E. Sniegoski, New York Times bestselling author of The Fallen series "McCarthy puts her characters in increasingly tense situations, testing them to the breaking point? [A] crazy-cool story."-Booklist "

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

She lives for speed. She'll die for love. A high-flying, adrenaline-fueled thriller for fans of Divergent and The Young Elites. Breaking Sky is an action-packed thrill ride." -Carrie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Need series. Chase Harcourt, call sign "Nyx", isn't one to play it safe. America is locked in a cold...

CORI MCCARTHY studied poetry and screenwriting before falling in love with writing for teens at Vermont College of Fine Arts. From a military family, Cori was born on Guam and lived a little bit of everywhere before she landed in Michigan. Learn more about her books at CoriMcCarthy.com.

other books by Cori McCarthy

You Were Here
You Were Here

Hardcover|Feb 23 2016

$24.29 online$24.99list price
The Color of Rain
The Color of Rain

Kobo ebook|May 14 2013

$6.99

Breaking Sky
Breaking Sky

Audio Book (CD)|Mar 10 2015

$130.00

see all books by Cori McCarthy
Format:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8.17 × 7.47 × 1.12 inPublished:February 21, 2016Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1492621129

ISBN - 13:9781492621126

Reviews