Breaking The Tongue by Vyvyane LohBreaking The Tongue by Vyvyane Loh

Breaking The Tongue

byVyvyane Loh

Paperback | March 15, 2005

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.31

Earn 102 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."—Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."—Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."—Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."—Andrea Barrett  "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."—Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire

This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists—including the elusive young woman Ling-Li—mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.
Vyvyane Loh was born in Malaysia and grew up in Singapore. She holds undergraduate and medical degrees from Boston University, and she graduated from the Warren Wilson College MFA Program for Writers. She now lives outside Boston.
Loading
Title:Breaking The TongueFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8.33 × 5.5 × 0.95 inPublished:March 15, 2005Publisher:WW NortonLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0393326543

ISBN - 13:9780393326543

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."