Bristol Speedway: The Bulldogs Roar 1928-1978 by David Woods

Bristol Speedway: The Bulldogs Roar 1928-1978

byDavid Woods

Kobo ebook | November 11, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Bristol Bulldogs, a name to conjure with for all speedway fans, even though their throaty roar hasnt been heard since 1978. Riders of the calibre of Mike Beddoe, Dick Bradley, Bill Clibbett, Eric Collins, Phil Crump, Roy Dook, Steve Gresham, Phil Herne, Billy Hole, Tormod Langli, Fred Leavis, Cordy Milne, Jack Mountford, Olle Nygren, Geoff Pymar, Trevor Redmond, Harry Shepherd, Bert Spencer and Fred Tuck wore the Bulldogs colours. A rich and colourful history unfolds within the pages of this book. Author David Woods first visited Knowle Stadium during the late 1940s for the Sports Days of Knowle Park Junior Mixed School. However, it wasnt until 1959 that he went to watch the speedway. A regular in 1959 and 1960, he was saddened by the sale of the Stadium in January 1961. It would be a treat to see the Bulldogs in action again.
Title:Bristol Speedway: The Bulldogs Roar 1928-1978Format:Kobo ebookPublished:November 11, 2012Publisher:Desert Island BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:190849591X

ISBN - 13:9781908495914

Look for similar items by category: