Britain Since 1945: The People's Peace by Kenneth O. MorganBritain Since 1945: The People's Peace by Kenneth O. Morgan

Britain Since 1945: The People's Peace

byKenneth O. Morgan

Paperback | October 1, 2001

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 158 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Britain since 1945: The People's Peace is the first comprehensive study by a professional historian of British history from 1945 to the present day. It examines the transformation of post-war Britain from the planning enthusiasm of 1945 to the rise of New Labour. Its themes include thetroubles of the British economy; public criticism of the legitimacy of the state and its instruments of authority; the co-existence of growing personal prosperity with widespread social inequality; and the debates aroused by decolonization, and Britain's relationship to the Commonwealth, the US andEurope. Changes in cultural life, from the puritanical 'austerity' of the 1940's, through the 'permissiveness' of the 1960s, to the tensions and achievements of recent years are also charted.Using a wide variety of sources, including the records of political parties and the most recently released documents from the Public Records Office, Kenneth Morgan brings the story right up to date and draws comparisons with the post-war history of other nations. This penetrating analysis by aleading twentieth-century historian will prove invaluable to anyone interested in the development of the Britain of today.
Kenneth O. Morgan is Research Professor, University of Wales, Aberystwyth, and Honorary Fellow of The Queen's College, Oxford. He was Principal, then Vice-chancellor, University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, and Professor in the University of Wales, 1989-95. He was made a Life Peer in April 2000.
Title:Britain Since 1945: The People's PeaceFormat:PaperbackPublished:October 1, 2001Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0192802259

ISBN - 13:9780192802255


Table of Contents

Part I: The Era of Advance, 1945-1961The Facade of Unity; Labour's High Noon, 1945-1947The Collectivist Retreat, 1948-1951The Conservative Compromise, 1951-1956The Zenith of One-Nation Toryism, 1957-1961Part II: The Years of Retreat, 1961-1979The Stagnant Society, 1961-1964Labour Blown Off Course, 1964-1967Years of Hard Slog, 1968-1970The Heath Experiment, 1970-1974Labour's Final Term, 1974-1976The Years of Discontent, 1977-1979Part III: Thatcherism and its Aftermath, 1979-1998The Foundations of Thatcherism, 1979-1983High Noon for the New Right, 1983-1990Fin de Siecle: The Rise of New Labour, 1990-1998Conclusion

Editorial Reviews

`Review from previous edition an outstanding work: comprehensive, lucid and judicious.' Ben Pimlott, Sunday Times