British Science Fiction: A Chronology, 1478-1990 by Nicholas RuddickBritish Science Fiction: A Chronology, 1478-1990 by Nicholas Ruddick

British Science Fiction: A Chronology, 1478-1990

byNicholas Ruddick

Hardcover | May 1, 1992

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 475 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This chronology outlines British science fiction from 1479-1990, highlighting the important biographical and publishing events in the field of science fiction literature and fandom, as well as in other media. The chronology includes biographical information on more than 700 authors, listings of more than 2,000 works, including anthologies, criticism and essays, publishing and fandom milestones, first publications, and awards. The works are fully cross-referenced and indexed, with introductory definitions of the field and descriptive headnotes for five periods: The Descent of Scientific Romance, 1478-1894; The Wellsian Synthesis, 1895-1936; British Science Fiction, 1937-1961; New Wave S(peculative) F(iction), 1962-1978; and The British Fantastic, 1979-1990. This book is an outgrowth of and is complementary to Ruddick's critical work, Ultimate Island. Together the two works define the scope and the nature of British science fiction--an enormous field that is not, until recently, examined separately from American science fiction in spite of considerable differences.
Title:British Science Fiction: A Chronology, 1478-1990Format:HardcoverDimensions:296 pages, 5.98 × 9.01 × 0.74 inPublished:May 1, 1992Publisher:GREENWOOD PRESS INC.

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0313280029

ISBN - 13:9780313280023

Look for similar items by category:


Editorial Reviews

.,."highly recommended for large academic libraries and students of science fiction."-Wilson Library Bulletin