Bruiser

Paperback | October 4, 2011

byNeal Shusterman

not yet rated|write a review

New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman delivers a suspenseful and thrilling novel that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Tennyson is not surprised, really, when his family begins to fall apart, or when his twin sister, Brontë, starts dating the misunderstood bully, Brewster (or The Bruiser, as the entire high school calls him). Tennyson is determined to get to the bottom of The Bruiser's reputation, even if it means gearing up for a fight. Brontë, on the other hand, thinks there's something special underneath that tough exterior. And she's right…but neither she nor Tennyson is prepared for the truth of what lies below the surface. Told through Tennyson, Brontë, and Bruiser's points of view, this dark, twisting novel explores friendship, family, and the sacrifices we make for the people we love.

Bruiser was named to the Texas Lone Star Reading List, among many other state lists, and was selected as a Book Page Top Ten Book of the Year, a Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year, and a Cooperative Children's Book Center Choice.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.58 online
$12.50 list price (save 7%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman delivers a suspenseful and thrilling novel that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.Tennyson is not surprised, really, when his family begins to fall apart, or when his twin sister, Brontë, starts dating the misunderstood bully, Brewster (or The Bruiser, as the entire high school ...

From the Jacket

There's a reason why Brewster can't have friends—why he can’t care about too many people. Because when he cares about you, things start to happen. Impossible things that can’t be explained. I know, because they’re happening to me.When Brontë starts dating Brewster “Bruiser” Rawlins—the guy voted Most Likely to Get the Death Penalty—her...

Neal Shusterman is theNew York Timesbestselling and award-winning author ofBruiser, which was a Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) choice, a YALSA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults pick, and on twelve state lists;The Schwa Was Here; and the Unwind dystology, among many other books. He lives in California with his four children...

other books by Neal Shusterman

Scythe
Scythe

Hardcover|Nov 22 2016

$22.30 online$24.99list price(save 10%)
Unwind
Unwind

Paperback|Jun 2 2009

$14.85 online$14.99list price
The Complete Unwind Dystology: Unwind; UnWholly; UnSouled; UnDivided
The Complete Unwind Dystology: Unwind; UnWholly; UnSoul...

Paperback|Nov 10 2015

$53.13 online$59.99list price(save 11%)
see all books by Neal Shusterman
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:October 4, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061134104

ISBN - 13:9780061134104

Customer Reviews of Bruiser

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Shusterman’s novel reveals its secrets and their implications slowly, allowing readers to connect the dots before the characters do and encouraging them to weigh the price of Bruiser’s ‘gift’ against the freedom from pain that Tennyson and Bronte enjoy.”