Burnt Offerings: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel by Laurell K. HamiltonBurnt Offerings: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel by Laurell K. Hamilton

Burnt Offerings: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel

byLaurell K. Hamilton

Mass Market Paperback | September 24, 2002

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.94 online 
$11.99 list price
Earn 60 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


Anita Blake is a vampire hunter. But when someone else sets his sights on her prey, she must save them both from the inferno.
Laurell K. Hamilton is a full-time writer and the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series and the Merry Gentry series. She lives in a suburb of St. Louis with her family.
Title:Burnt Offerings: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter NovelFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 6.7 × 4.2 × 1 inPublished:September 24, 2002Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0515134473

ISBN - 13:9780515134476


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Alright. Things are getting a little dark and graphic both inside the bedroom and out. Not a series for the squeamish or those weirded out by graphic sex scenes. The Vampire Councils come to town and that's a good time for nobody. An alright addition to the series but far from one of my favourites.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good It was ok but not my favorite.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Addition to the Series Perhaps not my most favorite of the series. It was still an enjoyable read.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Loved Anita and Jean Claude finally being together
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Goody Loved it! I really like the fact that her and jean are dating
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than a Wienie Roast This is the seventh book in this fantastic series that follows the adventures of Anita Blake, Vampire executioner, zombie raiser and now Lupa of the Lukoi (werewolves). While the story itself could be considered stand alone, I really can't recommend you read it without having read the rest of the series. Hamilton’s fantasy world deserves to be experienced in its entirety. The first book, Guilty Pleasures, is the foundation upon which this series has been built. With each subsequent book a little more of the underlying foundation is added with more and more characters coming out to play. There’s a purpose, a consistency, a rhythm to each story that flows into the next because when one ends, you will be dying for more. Leading up to Burnt Offerings, Anita has been torn between Jean-Claude, the Master Vampire of St Louis and Richard, the Ulfric of the Lukoi. Having made her choice in a previous installment, Anita is currently with Jean-Claude and together they are embroiled in one of the most dangerous situations to date. The Council of Vampires is determined to wreak vengeance on Anita and Jean-Claude. Even with their combined powers, their survival and that of their people (using the term loosely) is in question. Of course, there can never be just one crisis where Anita is concerned, so in addition to the peril of the Council, there’s also an arsonist on the loose who’s targeting the city's vampires. If you have never read an Anita Blake book, be warned. These books are GRAPHICALLY VIOLENT. Humans and non-humans are killed in record numbers, with most deaths quite graphic. This series is not for the faint-of-heart or the squeamish. Burnt Offerings is particularly brutal due to the brutal nature of the Vampire Council and this book is full of torture and rape and exhibitionism. But don't worry, it's not all dark and scary. Anita's snarky wit will often leave you chuckling and the non-stop action will leave you turning pages late into the night. 2010-094
Date published: 2010-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Council vs. The Trimulative Burnt Offerings is the 7Th book in the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Novels. Anita is hired by the fire department’s captain Pete McKinnon to investigate a series of unusual fires. The captain thinks that these fires were done by a pyrokinetic arsonist. He had met one before and does not want to repeat his past mistakes. Anita gets a call from Steven (lycanthrope) telling her that Nathanial (a wereleopard) has been hurt by a violent customer and is in the hospital. While Anita goes to the hospital she meets Zane (wereleopard) who is trying to take Nathanial home. Anita tries to reason with him but ends up shooting him twice (not killing). Anita is informed that since Anita killed Gabriel (the head wereleopard), the have had no leader since. The wereleopards have been helpless against anyone who harms them. Anita tries to protect Nathanial and Steven by using her Lupa status and has werewolves guard them in the hospital. Anita and Jean-Claude go out on a date and find out that some of the Vampire Council is there. The council wants Jean-Claude to sit on their seat after he has killed Oliver. Jean-Claude has refused the seat and the council want to find out why. They believe he is trying to make up his own council. They are also interested in Jean-Claude’s increasing power since he is a trimulative with Richard and Anita. While leaving the date they meet Asher. He was a vamp who was very close to Jean-Claude. The two and a human servant Juliana spent many decades together. But when Asher was hurt by the church and was burn with holy water, Juliana was killed. Jean-Claude was only able to save Asher, and he has hated him for it. The council takes over the circus. We meet some scary council members, The Traveler, who can take over other vamps bodies, the Mater of the Beasts who can dominate shifters and his son Fernando who is a sadist. With the council in town, their power disturbs the balance of power in the area and Anita tries to help get things back in order. This book was very good. I love the new character Asher, can’t wait to see more of him. It was a real page turner. Love this series.
Date published: 2009-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wereleopards this is a great book. It's jammed packed with good stuff.
Date published: 2006-07-09