But Then I Came Back by Estelle LaureBut Then I Came Back by Estelle Laure

But Then I Came Back

byEstelle Laure

Hardcover | April 4, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.99

Earn 125 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the author of&nbsp This Raging Light &nbspcomes the story of Eden Jones, a seventeen-year-old girl who feels lost after surviving a near fatal accident. Unable to connect with her family and friends, Eden forms an unlikely relationship with Joe, a boy who comes to the hospital to visit Jasmine, a friend who may soon be gone forever. Eden is the only person who can get through to Jasmine, but is she brave enough to face a world that's bigger and more magical than she ever would have allowed? Lyrical, unexpected, and romantic, Estelle Laure's new novel is about interwoven lives, long goodbyes, and the imperfect beauty of young love. &nbsp
Estelle Laure is a Vonnegut worshiper who believes in love, magic, and the power of facing hard truths. She has a BA in theatre arts, and an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and she lives in Taos, New Mexico, with her children. www.estellelaure.com
Loading
Title:But Then I Came BackFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.16 inPublished:April 4, 2017Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544531264

ISBN - 13:9780544531260

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Time is speeding, speeding while I stand perfectly still. By now most of you know that I personally don't enjoy Contemporary novels all that often, but on occasion, like this one, I do put in an effort to pick one up. When I first heard the synopsis for But Then I Came Back I was intrigued, the book sounded to me as a new story from all the other contemporary novels that I'd read. When Raincoast Books announced that they'd be hosting a tour for But Then I Came Back, I hopped on the chance. But Then I Came Back was a unique read, I've read novels where characters go into comas or where the story takes place while the character is in a coma. But I haven't read a story where the character wakes up from one and is recovering. That was my favourite thing about the story, I liked how we went on a journey of recovery with Eden, the protagonist. Laure showed the recovery process of coma patients from after they wake up, showing how smoothies are the only thing that they can swallow for a while because the patient hasn't been able to swallow food or drinks for as long as they've been out, and it damages their throats. Facts like this show up in the novel, facts that you probably wouldn't have thought of. Although But Then I Came Back is considered a standalone, there was the odd time where I didn't completely understand what role a specific character played or who they were. I feel like these characters were explained in the first novel that Estelle Laure wrote, This Raging Light, where this novel takes place in the same world but with different characters. And finally I felt that I could relate to Eden on a personal level when it came to her brother and best friend dating, I'm currently in a somewhat similar situation and I still don't know how I feel about it or how to deal with it. I also felt like the relationship between the brother and best friend could have been explained a bit more, but it's understandable why it wasn't considering This Raging Light is based off of that story. But Then I Came Back was a little slow at times, but a very intriguing read. I enjoyed hearing the stories of the characters in But Then I Came Back, so I can not wait to pick up This Raging Light.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I urge you to go and grab a copy. But Then I Came Back by Estelle Laure, yes, has aspects in it that remind me of Gayle Forman's If I Stay, but it is absolutely its own novel that I JUST CAN'T STOP FREAKING OUT ABOUT. I have not read Laure's This Raging Light just yet (due to my horrifyingly busy schedule and buckets of homework), though I know that I will enjoy it SO much because this beautiful story just made me go crazy and become obsessed with contemporary romances all over again. I feel like such a tween again, agh! (But this book's subjects are not fully for tweens either as the whole coma situation is pretty influential and emotional to readers!) The title was definitely the first thing that intrigued me. It makes this book sound so drastic and interesting since BOOM the protagonist comes out of her near-death experience and begins to live her life normally again. Eden really made me feel as if I were in that hospital room, watching her journey unfold as she began to understand more about her situation and how she was trying to discover what happened to her. MY MOST FAVOURITE PART was seeing how Eden was trying to discover what exactly happened to her when she hit her head and immediately went into a coma. Of course—the romance was absolutely amazing and delightful and *insert every possible positive adjective* I LOVED JOEY. The two both had a relationship that literally all of the Nicholas Sparks movies would highlight. THIS IS LIKE GREY'S ANATOMY APPROVED. OR JOHN GREEN APPROVED. I really don't know, but I think we can definitely say that all teens will enjoy this read. I found the plot to be moving quite quickly. The story begins with the first part of Eden's story—where we learn about the events occurring during Eden's experience, during and the aftermath. I loved this format and how it split the book up. I kept feeling this anticipation that something CRAZY would occur that would make the whole book fall apart. I was unable to stop reading.
Date published: 2017-04-10

Editorial Reviews

* Rendered with insight and compassion, Eden's struggles to make peace with the human condition add up to a riveting coming-of-age story." - Kirkus, starred review"Laure creates an intriguing blend of realism and the unknowable in her sophomore novel. . . . Eden is simultaneously tough and fragile, and her struggle to figure out what her life should look like is compelling." - Publishers Weekly "The romantic and thoughtful story of Eden Jones, a 17-year-old dancer. . . . the appeal lies in Eden's original, creative, and thought-provoking first-person (mostly) narrative. Fans of the first title will be happy to see Lucille through Eden's eyes, but this companion novel stands solidly alone." - Booklist " Hand this to readers who like angst, romance, and a touch of otherworldliness? " -VOYA " But Then I Came Back is a hauntingly beautiful dreamscape of sense, memory, fate, magic, and love. If you love mystical stories with sumptuously lyrical writing and characters who take up residence in your heart, this book is for you. In prose that shimmers like sunlight on water and sings like a ballad, Estelle Laure weaves a devastatingly beautiful tale of memory, fate, friendship, and love. Fans of Jandy Nelson and A.S. King take note." -Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King "But Then I Came Back is magical and illuminating, lovely and lyrical. Laure's examination of loss and longing, of saying goodbye to the past so you can say hello to the future, is a story you don't want to miss." -Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces "Much like Laure's writing, Eden's story is haunting and raw. You will root for her as she struggles through her new reality and fall with her as she finds love." -Goldy Moldavsky, author of Kill the Boy Band Praise for This Raging Light : Winter 2015-2016 Kids' Indie Next Pick! " Her first-person narration is lyrical, akin to that of a Francesca Lia Block character, but there's an undercurrent of roughness in her voice? heartbreakingly hopeful, lyrically told? " - Kirkus "Estelle Laure's prose is utterly gorgeous, even as it lays out the story of a girl dealing with the failings of her parents, death, and her own insecurities." -BookRiot "Estelle Laure's This Raging Light might be YA, but it's got plenty of grown-up appeal." -entertainmentweekly.com "Laure's debut stands out for her keen understanding of the spectrum of human emotions, and her ability to put tough feelings into beautiful prose." - Horn Book "In an assured debut, Laure gives Lucille a fierce stubbornness that keeps her going. . . The characters are well drawn, and Laure effectively depicts the adrenaline rush of love." - Publishers Weekly " This Raging Light is a funny, heartwrenching, and soulful read as Lucille develops her own personal family, bloodline or not. It's not one you'll soon forget." -Bustle "Lucille's fresh, first-person voice spills over with metaphor, poetically capturing her emotional landscape with force and fury, frantic love and absolute exhaustion." -Shelf Awareness "Laure's debut is brilliant and not to be missed." - RT Book Reviews "Lucille may not take down a beast or assassinate any super bads, but she's what heroines look like and love like in real life." -Justine magazine "[a] poetic, heartbreaking read that will resonate with teens." - BookPage online "The narrative rings authentic, especially as Lucille wrestles with romantic pangs. Thankfully, there's enough wry humor to balance the worry and poignancy. Above all, you'll love steadfast Lucille and keep caring about what comes next." - Atlanta Journal Constitution "Lucille is a steel-strong, deeply human heroine fighting against impossible odds." -BNTEENblog "Readers will be seduced by the love affair budding between Digby and Lucille as much as she is. The characters are believably flawed, but eminently likeable, leaving the reader with hope for humanity." -Montana Public Radio "Laure's debut stands out for her keen understanding of the spectrum of human emotions, and her ability to put tough feelings into beautiful prose." -Horn Book "Bursting with feeling, like a seventies pop song, Estelle Laure's This Raging Light should be read at a feverish clip and then passed on to your favorite friend." -Campus Circle "I loved this book. I was torn between wanting to devour it in one breathless read and needing to stop and savor each gorgeous turn of phrase. This is a remarkable debut." -Morgan Matson, author of Amy & Roger's Epic Detour and Since You've Been Gone " This Raging Light is a funny, poetic, big-hearted reminder that life can-and will-take us all by surprise sometimes." -Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and The Geography of You and Me "Estelle Laure writes with power and lyricism-but more than that, she writes honestly from the heart. Definitely a writer to watch!" -A.M. Jenkins, Printz Honor winning author of Repossessed "With This Raging Light, Estelle Laure establishes herself as a literary heavyweight. Laure's characters mimic her writing, at once visceral and brave, unafraid to confront love in its every facet-surprising, surpassing, flawed. This book is a thick quilt in a cold room, and I want to wrap myself in it." -David Arnold, author of Mosquitoland "[Laure] has a raw, authentic voice and a passion for storytelling." -Matt de la Pena, Pura Belpree honoree and award-winning YA novelist of The Living and Mexican WhiteBoy "