By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz

April 19, 2016|
By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz by Max Eisen
$32.99
Hardcover
Earn 165 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Not currently available
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
In-Store Availability
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor

Finalist for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing.

Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer.

One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world.

The author will be donating a portion of his royalties from this book to institutions promoting tolerance and understanding.

Title:By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at AuschwitzFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:304 pages, 9 X 6 X 1.01 inShipping dimensions:304 pages, 9 X 6 X 1.01 inPublished:April 19, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1443449288

ISBN - 13:9781443449281

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: