Call Me Hope by Gretchen OlsonCall Me Hope by Gretchen Olson

Call Me Hope

byGretchen OlsonAs told byGretchen Olson

Paperback | June 1, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$7.27 online 
$10.49 list price save 30%
Earn 36 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Now with a new cover! A heartwrenching and poignant novel about a young girl dealing with verbal abuse perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.

Hope Elliot is struggling to live under the pressures of her verbally abusive mother. But instead of running away, precocious Hope chooses resilience instead, and creates survival strategies for herself.

Her strategies include: a support team that includes the employees of a used clothing store, the smartest kid in the sixth grade, her older brother; and a point system to help deal with her mom. Will Hope find a way to confront her mother and help things change for the better?
Gretchen Olson is the author of Call Me Hope and the YA novel Joyride. She's also on the board of directors for The Hands & Words Are Not for Hurting Project. She received the University of Oregon's Community Award for her work with the Hands Project. Gretchen lives with her husband on their blueberry farm in Oregon.
Title:Call Me HopeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 7.75 × 5.25 × 0.75 inPublished:June 1, 2008Publisher:Little, Brown Books for Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316012394

ISBN - 13:9780316012393

Appropriate for ages: 8


Editorial Reviews

Praise for Call Me Hope:A Borders Original Voices selectionA Book Sense Pick"Hope is a winsome character whose bravery and determination will resonate with middle-grade readers." -- Booklist"Children who can identify with Hope's predicament will find solace in this book as well as tips for survival." -- Publishers Weekly"A compelling and rewarding read."--School Library Journal"The resilience of Hope Elliot will inspire and console readers of all ages."--VOYAPraise for Joyride:A Booklist Top Ten Notable BookSociety of School Librarians International Honor BookOregon Book Award finalist"Olson knows how to keep readers turning the pages."-Kirkus