Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End: Farewell To The East End

Paperback | March 12, 2013

byJennifer Worth

not yet rated|write a review

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.16 online
$19.99 list price (save 24%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the MidwifeWhen twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched ...

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for...

other books by Jennifer Worth

Call The Midwife: A Memoir Of Birth, Joy, And Hard Times
Call The Midwife: A Memoir Of Birth, Joy, And Hard Time...

Paperback|Aug 29 2012

$13.37 online$22.00list price(save 39%)
Call The Midwife: Shadows Of The Workhouse: Shadows Of The Workhouse
Call The Midwife: Shadows Of The Workhouse: Shadows Of ...

Paperback|Jan 22 2013

$15.31 online$19.99list price(save 23%)
LETTERS TO THE MIDWIFE
LETTERS TO THE MIDWIFE

Hardcover|Oct 28 2015

$7.99 online$19.50list price(save 59%)
see all books by Jennifer Worth
Format:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.77 inPublished:March 12, 2013Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062270060

ISBN - 13:9780062270061

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End: Farewell To The East End

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Call the Midwife A wonderful look back at brave women who gave their all to the moms and babes of the East End of London in the '50's.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Another beautiful collection of memoirs that vividly places the reader in that time and in the characters' lives.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nursing and midwifery A fascinating end to the trilogy. The author writes of the east end of London, Her experiences are fascinating and she and her colleagues deal with massive overcrowding and poverty in the area, none of it change in hundreds of years. She writes about the horrible social effects of the workhouses. At this point in time they are closed, but some ofer patients were born and raised in these horrific institutions. She is a very good writer and her descriptions many times brought me to tears. Please read all three.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Series Interesting from a nursing and history point of view.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Call the Midwife - Book 3 Thoroughly enjoyed this book series. The characters are rich & you can't help but love them or feel sorry for them. The 50's was an amazing time & so much has changed since then. Beautifully written memoirs.
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Call the midwife trilogy What an amazing read! I have read all 3 books in under 2 weeks and laughed & wept my way through them. So real & exhilarating! Though there were times I had to remind myself that these books were based on real life experience, only because I couldn't fully comprehend the struggles that the people of East End London had to go through, post-war. What a bunch of brave ones!! All of them.
Date published: 2013-05-12