Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End: Farewell To The East End by Jennifer WorthCall The Midwife: Farewell To The East End: Farewell To The East End by Jennifer Worth

Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End: Farewell To The East End

byJennifer Worth

Paperback | March 12, 2013

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.50 online 
$19.99 list price save 17%
Earn 83 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

About The Author

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for...
Call The Midwife: A Memoir Of Birth, Joy, And Hard Times
Call The Midwife: A Memoir Of Birth, Joy, And Hard Times

by Jennifer Worth

$16.51$22.00

In stock online

Available in stores

LETTERS TO THE MIDWIFE
LETTERS TO THE MIDWIFE

by Jennifer Worth

$5.00$19.50

Out of stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End: Farewell To The East EndFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.77 inPublished:March 12, 2013Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062270060

ISBN - 13:9780062270061

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End: Farewell To The East End

Reviews