Calling My Name by Liara TamaniCalling My Name by Liara Tamani

Calling My Name

byLiara Tamani

Hardcover | October 24, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

Earn 110 plum® points
Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and it deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Liara Tamani lives in Houston, Texas. She recieved an MFA in writing from Vermont College. Her fiction has appeared in Apalachee Review, Blackbird, Ducts, Fourteen Hills, The Griffin, and Storyscape Journal, among others. In addition to writing, she teaches the healing movement forms of Nia and yoga. Calling My Name is her first novel.
Loading
Title:Calling My NameFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.05 inPublished:October 24, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062656864

ISBN - 13:9780062656865

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Tamani’s debut novel brims with heart and soul, following its African-American protagonist, Taja Brown, as she searches for spirituality, love, and a sense of self. ...absorbing.”