Calling My Name by Liara TamaniCalling My Name by Liara Tamani

Calling My Name

byLiara Tamani

Hardcover | October 24, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.47 online 
$21.99 list price save 34%
Earn 72 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Calling My Name is a treasure.”—Nic Stone, New York Times–bestselling author of Dear Martin

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Liara Tamani lives in Houston, Texas. She recieved an MFA in writing from Vermont College. Her fiction has appeared in Apalachee Review, Blackbird, Ducts, Fourteen Hills, The Griffin, and Storyscape Journal, among others. In addition to writing, she teaches the healing movement forms of Nia and yoga. Calling My Name is her first novel.
Loading
Title:Calling My NameFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.05 inPublished:October 24, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062656864

ISBN - 13:9780062656865

Best Books for Teens

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“For Taja, the narrator of Liara Tamani’s luminous episodic debut, faith in God is as much a part of her as her long legs and brown skin...a complex portrait of a young woman trying to reconcile what she’s been taught, both in church and out in the world, with what she truly believes.”