You’ll love…

Canada Reads 2016: The Illegal by Lawrence Hill

The Illegal

From Laurence Hill, the award-winning author of The Book of Negroes, The Illegal is the story of a man living outside the law as an immigrant to an unwelcoming country.

Perfect for fans of Kim Thuy’s Ru and Esi Edugyan’s Half Blood Blues.

shop now

You’ll love…

Canada Reads 2016: Minister Without Portfolio by Michael Winter

Minister Without Portfolio

In Minister Without Portfolio, a former contractor with the Canadian Army must overcome battlefield guilt as he returns home to Newfoundland and works to restore his life.

Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood and Marina Nemat’s Prisoner of Tehran.

shop now

You’ll love…

Canada Reads 2016:  Bone and Bread by Saleema Nawaz

Bone & Bread

Bone & Bread is a moving coming-of-age story by an emerging Canadian talent about the bond of sisterhood as two young women navigate an insular community in Montreal.

Perfect for fans of Miriam Toews’ A Complicated Kindness and Raziel Reid’s When Everything Feels Like the Movies.

shop now

You’ll love…

Birdie by Tracey Lindberg

Birdie

Birdie follows the life of a Cree woman who travels from Alberta to BC and works to understand her life by drawing on her First Nations heritage.

Perfect for fans of Thomas King’s The Inconvenient Indian and Joseph Boyden’s The Orenda.

shop now

You’ll love…

Canada Reads 2016: The Hero's Walk by Anita Rau Badami

The Hero’s Walk

The Hero’s Walk looks at family life and the conflicts that arise when individuality pushes against the boundaries and obligations of life, community and tradition.

Perfect for fans of Life of Pi and A Fine Balance.

shop now