CBC's Canada Reads 2020

Five books, five champions, one winner: CBC's annual Battle of the Books has been getting people listening, watching and, of course, reading, for the past 18 years.
Canada Reads is a "literary Survivour," with celebrities championing books. Each day, panellists vote to eliminate one book, until a single title is chosen as the title the whole country should read this year.

25% off CBC's Canada Reads 2020 Shortlist. In-store & online, offer ends March 23, 2020.


From the Ashes: My Story Of Being Métis, Homeless, And Finding My Way
Paperback

|August 6, 2019

$15.58 online

$24.99list price

save 37%

In stock online

Available in stores

#1 National Bestseller Finalist, CBC Canada Reads A Globe and Mail Book of the Year An Indigo Book of the Year A CBC Best Canadian Nonfiction Book of the Year In this extraordinary and inspiring debut memoir, Jesse Thistle, once a high school dropout and now a…
Small Game Hunting At The Local Coward Gun Club
Paperback

|February 12, 2019

$17.21 online

$22.95list price

save 25%

In stock online

Available in stores

February in Newfoundland is the longest month of the year. Another blizzard is threatening to tear a strip off downtown St. John's, while inside The Hazel restaurant a storm system of sex, betrayal, addiction, and hurt is breaking overhead. Iris, a young hostess…
Son Of A Trickster
Paperback

|March 13, 2018

$15.75 online

$21.00list price

save 25%

In stock online

Available in stores

CANADA READS 2020 FINALIST More than ten years after her Giller-shortlisted title Monkey Beach , Eden Robinson returns with a striking and precise coming-of-age novel, in which everyday teen existence meets Indigenous beliefs, crazy family dynamics and…
We Have Always Been Here: A Queer Muslim Memoir
Paperback

|June 4, 2019

$18.71 online

$24.95list price

save 25%

In stock online

Available in stores

A CANADA READS 2020 SELECTION How do you find yourself when the world tells you that you don't exist? Samra Habib has spent most of her life searching for the safety to be herself. As an Ahmadi Muslim growing up in Pakistan, she faced regular threats from Islamic…
Radicalized
Paperback

|February 11, 2020

$16.49 online

$21.99list price

save 25%

In stock online

Available in stores

From New York Times bestselling author Cory Doctorow, Radicalized is four urgent SF novellas of America's present and future within one book Told through one of the most on-pulse genre voices of our generation, Radicalized is a timely collection consisting of…

CBC's Canada Reads 2019 Winner


By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story Of Courage And Survival At Auschwitz

In stock online

Available in stores

WINNER of CBC Canada Reads Finalist for the RBC Taylor Prize In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a…