Canadian Short Stories: First Series by William ToyeCanadian Short Stories: First Series by William Toye

Canadian Short Stories: First Series

byWilliam ToyeEditorRobert Weaver

Paperback | October 1, 1966

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.31 online 
$21.95 list price save 25%
Earn 82 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Originally issued as an Oxford World's Classic, this groundbreaking book remains one of the finest anthologies of Canadian short fiction ever published, its selections as readable and relevant as they were back in 1960 when first chosen by editor Robert Weaver. Among the 27 stories includedhere are enduring classics by such early giants of Canadian literature as Frederick Philip Grove, Morley Callaghan, and Sinclair Ross; works by writers like Alice Munro, Mordecai Richler, and Mavis Gallant, then viewed as relative newcomers, now firmly ensconced in the pantheon of Canadian letters;and stories by Ethel Wilson, Hugh Garner, Joyce Marshall, and others less well-known to twenty-first century readers but whose stories still grip the imagination and tell us something about our country and ourselves. Canadian Short Stories is a Wynford book -- one of a series of titles representing significant milestones in Canadian literature, thought, and scholarship.
Robert Weaver worked as a program organizer and producer for CBC radio from 1948 to 1985, and in that role helped bring to notice such writers as Alice Munro and Mordecai Richler. A prolific editor of anthologies, he was also a driving force behind the well-known literary magazine The Tamarack Review. William Toye, who has contribute...
Title:Canadian Short Stories: First SeriesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:440 pages, 8.25 × 5.25 × 1.25 inPublished:October 1, 1966Publisher:Oxford University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:019540131X

ISBN - 13:9780195401318


Table of Contents

William E. Toye: Canadian Short Stories, Fifty Years LaterRobert Weaver: IntroductionE.W. Thompson (1849-1924): The Privilige of the LimitsSir Charles G.D.Roberts (1860-1943): StrayedDuncan Campbell Scott (1862-1947): Paul FarlotteStephen Leacock (1869-1944): The Marine Excursion of the Knights of PythiasFrederick Philip Gove (1871-1948): SnowEthel Wilson (b. 1890): Mrs. Golightly and the First ConventionRinguet (b. 1895): The HeritageRaymond Knister (1900-32): Mist-Green OatsThomas H. Raddall (b. 1903): Blind MacNairMorley Callaghan (b. 1903): Last Spring They Came OverMorley Callaghan (b. 1903): A Sick CallLeo Kennedy (b. 1907): A Priest in the FamilySinclair Ross (b. 1908): The Painted DoorRalph Gustafson (b. 1909): The PigeonMalcolm Lowry (1909-57): The Bravest BoatIrving Layton (b. 1912): Vacation in La VoiselleHugh Garner (b. 1913): One, Two, Three Little IndiansJoyce Marshall (b. 1913): The Old WomanW.O. Mitchell (b. 1914): The Owl and the BensP.K. Page (b. 1916): The Green BirdAnne Hebert (b. 1916): The House on the EsplanadeRoger Lemelin (b. 1919): The Stations of the CrossMavis Gallant (b. 1922): The LegacyJames Reaney (b. 1926): The BullyDouglas Spettigue (b. 1930): The HayingAlice Munro (b. 1931): The Time of DeathMordecai Richler (b. 1931): Benny, the War in Europe, and Myerson's Daughter BellaThe Life and Times of OWC 573: An Historical Note from the Publisher