Carols And Chaos by Cindy AnsteyCarols And Chaos by Cindy Anstey

Carols And Chaos

byCindy Anstey

Paperback | October 9, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.48 online 
$14.50 list price
Earn 72 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the author of Suitors and Sabotage comes a swoonworthy Christmas adventure, perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey.

1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady's maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He's performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate's holiday guests.

Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue.

Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday mischief, Carols and Chaos-a standalone companion novel to Suitors and Sabotage-is perfect for readers who like their historical fiction with a side of romance and danger.

Praise for Carols and Chaos:

"One part intriguing mystery, one part cozy romance. Jane Austen fans will enjoy the propriety and the Regency setting, while that dose of Christmas adds an extra bit of cheer." -Booklist

"A nod and a wink to the works of Jane Austen and Charles Dickens. ... This book could serve as a stepping stone to classic read-alikes, such as Pride and Prejudice or Jane Eyre." -School Library Journal

Cindy Anstey spends her days painting with words, flowers, threads, and watercolors. Whenever not sitting at the computer, she can be found-or rather, not found-traveling near and far. After many years living as an expat in Singapore, Memphis, and Belgium, Cindy now resides with her husband and energetic chocolate labrador, Chester, in...
Loading
Title:Carols And ChaosFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.38 × 0.92 inPublished:October 9, 2018Publisher:Feiwel & FriendsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250174872

ISBN - 13:9781250174871

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mini review on GR! Mini review: Minor spoilers! DNF Trigger Warning: None till the point I read. I have read the author's debut and enjoyed it! I was excited to dive into another book by this author. Unfortunately I didn't enjoy it. The beginning really confused me. For some reason I thought she ran into an employee and not an actual bull. The humor wasn't funny either. I simply lost interest. I do recommend. This was a personal thing and I have a feeling other's will enjoy it more.
Date published: 2018-10-30

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Carols and Chaos:"Anstey offers up another lively historical tale that's one part intriguing mystery, one part cozy romance. Jane Austen fans will enjoy the propriety and the Regency setting, while that dose of Christmas adds an extra bit of cheer." -Booklist"This Christmas tale set in the 1817 English countryside is a nod and a wink to the works of Jane Austen and Charles Dickens. ... This book could serve as a stepping stone to classic read-alikes, such as Pride and Prejudice or Jane Eyre. Fans of romantic historical fiction will welcome this quick and fun holiday read." -School Library Journal"Fans of Regency romance and Downton Abbey alike will be charmed by this tale of a budding relationship between lady's maid Kate Darby and gentleman's gentleman Matt Harlow. ... Full of richly imagined period detail and gasp-inducing setbacks before resolving into a credible and satisfactory arrangement for the lovers, this makes for a cozy, engaging tuck-in on a winter's night." -The Bulletin"Anstey provides [a] diverting mystery/romance with period details and Christmassy flourishes." -Horn BookPraise for Suitors and Sabotage:A Junior Library Guild Selection"Anstey's tale embraces a self-reliant main character, a loyal friend, innocent romance, witty conversation, and English country settings, each more splendid than the last. This is a delightful salute to Jane Austen and will be a treat for her fans." -VOYA"Mystery and romance are delightfully intertwined . . . Taking inspiration from Jane Austen novels, Anstey's latest is a lighthearted and romantic read." -Booklist"All in all, this novel was a delight to read. ... I am continuously impressed by Anstey! ... These books are simply lovely to read, and I can't get enough!" -The Eater of BooksPraise for Duels & Deception:"[Duels & Deception] is Jane Austen spiced with action, suspense, and humor. The question is never about their love but how they will overcome society's demands in order to realize it. Young girls who enjoyed Anstey's Love, Lies and Spies will snap up this adventure." -VOYA, starred review"Jane Austen fans in need of a good new book, look no further. Cindy Anstey's new YA novel, Duels & Deception, is your next regency romance treat." -Entertainment Weekly"A great introduction to historical romance novels for younger YA readers. . . . Anstey's novel is a wonderful coming-of-age journey filled with entertaining characters and wild adventures." -School Library JournalPraise for Love, Lies and Spies:"It's Jane Austen meets Jane Foster in Anstey's debut novel, which serves up a delightful combination of Regency romance, scientific curiosity, and spy intrigue for a tale that will have readers rooting for love and science." -Entertainment Weekly"Love, Lies and Spies is an adorable little romp in Regency-era London, perfectly-paced and delightfully entertaining. It had me grinning from ear to ear, cover to cover. And the best part of all is that it seems to be a stand-alone with none of those ridiculous miscommunications. It really was just a pleasure to read!" -The Starry-Eyed Revue