Carrie's War

August 26, 2014|
Carrie's War by Nina Bawden
$10.99
Paperback
Earn 55 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Not currently available.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime.

Puffin Modern Classics are relaunched under a new logo: A Puffin Book. There are 20 titles to collect in the series, listed below, all with exciting new covers and fun-filled endnotes.

Carrie''s War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.

''I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...''

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.

Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid''s Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...

Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden''s enchanting story Carrie''s War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.

''Nina Bawden - without question one of the very best writers for children'' Daily Telegraph

***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.***

Nina Bawden was one of the UK''s best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie''s War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children''s Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87.

Also available in A Puffin Book:
GOODNIGHT MISTER TOM and BACK HOME by Michelle Magorian
CHARLOTTE''S WEB, STUART LITTLE and THE TRUMPET OF THE SWAN by E. B. White
THE BORROWERS by Mary Norton
STIG OF THE DUMP by Clive King
ROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY by Mildred D. Taylor
A DOG SO SMALL by Philippa Pearce
GOBBOLINO by Ursula Moray Williams
CARRIE''S WAR by Nina Bawden
MRS FRISBY AND THE RATS OF NIMH by Richard C O''Brien
A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L''Engle
THE CAY by Theodore Taylor
TARKA THE OTTER by Henry Williamson
WATERSHIP DOWN by Richard Adams
SMITH by Leon Garfield
THE NEVERENDING STORY by Michael Ende
ANNIE by Thomas Meehan
THE FAMILY FROM ONE END STREET by Eve Garnett

Nina Bawden was one of the UK''s best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie''s War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel th...
Loading
Title:Carrie's War
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:208 pages, 7.75 X 5.07 X 0.6 in
Shipping dimensions:208 pages, 7.75 X 5.07 X 0.6 in
Published:August 26, 2014
Publisher:Penguin Uk
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780141354903

Recently Viewed
|