Cash Out: A Novel

Paperback | October 9, 2012

byGreg Bardsley

not yet rated|write a review

Cash Out is one of those novels that begs for more adjectives: relentless, madcap, polished, lean, vivid, warped, original, horrifying and hilarious in equal measure.”
—Marcus Sakey, author of The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes and The Amateur

Imagine a story by Ben Mezrich (The Accidental Billionaires, 21) of staggering financial improprieties infused with Tim Dorsey’s (Hurricane Punch, Gator A-Go-Go) zany, over-the-top pure insanity, and you might have something somewhat resembling Cash Out, the rollicking debut novel  by Greg Bardsley. This is nonstop, mercilessly hilarious, no-holds-barred fiction for fans of  The Hangover and Office Space—an outrageous tall tale that follows one desperate, disgruntled Silicon Valley exec through a his surreal three-day scramble to cash out his stock options and leave behind his hated high-tech job before outrageous villains (and even crazier friends) completely destroy him. Do you like the wildly satirical work of Tom Perrotta, Sam Lipsyte, and Gary Shteyngart? Do the ingenious comic caper novels of Elmore Leonard leave you breathless and exhilarated?  Then get ready to Cash Out.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.50

Ships within 1-2 weeks
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

“Cash Out is one of those novels that begs for more adjectives: relentless, madcap, polished, lean, vivid, warped, original, horrifying and hilarious in equal measure.” —Marcus Sakey, author of The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes and The AmateurImagine a story by Ben Mezrich (The Accidental Billionaires, 21) of staggering financial impropri...

From the Jacket

It's 2008. In three days, family man and Silicon Valley speechwriter Dan Jordan will see his start-up stock vest. He'll cash out with $1.1 million, turn in his frenetic Valley life in for a slower one on the beach with his wife and two children, and finally live the life he's supposed to live. Or so he thinks. Before he can collect his...

Greg Bardsley has worked as a Silicon Valley speechwriter, a news-paper reporter, and a weekly columnist. His ghostwriting for high-profile business executives has appeared inNewsweek,USA Today, and theFinancial Times. His short fiction has appeared in numerous journals and anthologies, including3:AMmagazine,Plots with Guns,Uncage Me, ...

other books by Greg Bardsley

The Bob Watson: A Novel
The Bob Watson: A Novel

Kobo ebook|Nov 8 2016

$11.99

Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.9 inPublished:October 9, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062127713

ISBN - 13:9780062127716

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Cash Out: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“The valley is so weird that it would be tough to come up with fiction that is more outrageous than the valley’s reality. Bardsley … gets that, and he’s artfully turned the weirdness to his advantage in his debut novel, Cash Out.”