Celestial Joyride

May 16, 2016|
Celestial Joyride
$12.99 save 17%
Kobo ebook
Available for download


Celestial Joyride is Michael Waters' third volume within a trilogy that celebrates transgression as a means of affirming faith, beginning with Darling Vulgarity (2006), and its sequel, Gospel Night (2011).

The first installment of this triolgy, Darling Vulgarity (2006), was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.

Michael Waters' previous collection Parthenopi: New and Selected Poems (2001), was a finalist for the Paterson Poetry Prize.

Waters writes with taut clarity, consummate craft, and rich texture. His poems are crafted line by line, their intense and compelling narratives marked by precise diction, lyric gesture, and musical phrasing.

Waters is one of the "racier" poets out there - consistently pushing boundaries of sex, darkness, love, and language.

These poems take place in the physical world, a world of narrowly focused detail and sensual language, and a world charged with momentary and surprising depths of emotion. They range through time, encompassing the prayers of both the 12th century German nun Hildegard von Bingen and the 21st century provocateurs Pussy Riot. Jesus performs a miracle and Dylan performs “Desolation Row." Walt Whitman and The Beatles convey the meaning of solitude. Dominoes and Tic Tac Toe take on new, harrowing resonance.

Title:Celestial Joyride
Format:Kobo ebook
Published:May 16, 2016
Publisher:BOA Editions Ltd.
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781942683070

Recently Viewed