Chasing Shadows by Swati AvasthiChasing Shadows by Swati Avasthi

Chasing Shadows

bySwati AvasthiIllustratorCraig Phillips

Paperback | June 9, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.99

Earn 60 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

“A superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred
 
Corey, Holly, and Savitri are closer than family until a random act of violence shatters their world. A gunman shoots at their car, leaving Corey dead, Holly in a coma, and Savitri the sole witness to the crime.
 
When Holly wakes up, she is changed—determined to hunt down Corey’s killer, whatever the cost. Savitri fears that Holly is running wild, losing her grip on reality. Friends should stand by each other in times of crisis. But can you hold on too tight? Too long?
 
Swati Avasthi delivers a riveting novel that will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Laurie Halse Anderson.
 
“Haunting, mesmerizing and intense.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
“[A] visceral story of love, grief, and madness that is both action-packed and psychologically acute.” —The Horn Book




From the Hardcover edition.
SWATI AVASTHI is the author of the highly acclaimed novel Split, winner of the IRA Book Award and the Cybils Award. Ms. Avasthi received her MFA from the University of Minnesota and currently teaches in Hamline University’s MFA program in Writing for Children and Young Adults. She lives in Minneapolis with her husband and two c...
Loading
Title:Chasing ShadowsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 9.13 × 6.13 × 0.88 inPublished:June 9, 2015Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0375863435

ISBN - 13:9780375863431

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, August 5, 2013:"Avasthi (Split) delivers a superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology."Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews, September 1, 2013:"Haunting, mesmerizing and intense.”Starred Review, School Library Journal, November 2013:“Fans of Cecil Castellucci’s Year of the Beasts will especially appreciate this book’s themes and its hybrid format that alternates chapters…in both compelling text and adept black-and-white graphics–graphics that ultimately deliver a sad and powerful twist.”From the Hardcover edition.