Chasing The Wind by C.C. HumphreysChasing The Wind by C.C. Humphreys

Chasing The Wind

byC.C. Humphreys

Paperback | June 5, 2018

see the collection Read The North

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.36 online 
$24.00 list price save 11%
Earn 107 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Smuggler. Smoker. Aviatrix. Thief. The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear.

You should never fall in love with a flyer. You should only fall in love with flight.

That's what Roxy Loewen always thought, until she falls for fellow pilot Jocco Zomack as they run guns into Ethiopia. Jocco may be a godless commie, but his father is a leading art dealer and he's found the original of Bruegel's famous painting, the Fall of Icarus. The trouble is, it's in Spain, a country slipping fast into civil war. The money's better than good--if Roxy can just get the painting to Berlin and back out again before Reichsmarshall Hermann Göring and his Nazi pals get their hands on it . . .

But this is 1936, and Hitler's Olympics are in full swing. Not only that, but Göring has teamed up with Roxy's greatest enemy: Sydney Munroe, an American billionaire responsible for the death of her beloved dad seven years before. When the Nazis steal the painting, Roxy and Jocco decide that they are just going to have to steal it back.

What happens when Icarus flies too close to the sun? Roxy is going to find out. From African skies to a cellar in Madrid, from the shadow cast by the swastika to the world above the clouds on the Hindenburg's last voyage, in the end Roxy will have just two choices left--but only one bullet.
C.C. HUMPHREYS is a novelist, playwright, fight choreographer and actor, who has performed on stages from London's West End to Hollywood. Chris's first novel, The French Executioner, was runner-up for the CWA Steel Dagger Award for Best Thriller. Vlad: The Last Confession was an international bestseller. His recent novel Plague won the...
Loading
Title:Chasing The WindFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 9 × 6.13 × 0.81 inPublished:June 5, 2018Publisher:Doubleday CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385690487

ISBN - 13:9780385690485

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Good Adventure! First off, before I even get into this review, let me just say that I could totally see this novel as a successful movie adaptation. It had all the action and adventure that you would want to see in a movie involving a mysterious heist. Now, for my thoughts on the story. It was a good read. I really liked that in addition to it being historical fiction, the main character was a strong, independent, female character. Unfortunately, often when I'm reading historical fiction, the female characters can sometimes be written as if they are weak, especially when there is a romance involved. That was not the case with this story. There may or may not have been a romance involved (I don't want to get too detailed in case of spoilers) but the main character maintained that strength. Yay for strong women and girl power! Additionally, lately I have become a fan of when there's a component of realism in the historical fiction that I'm reading. That may seem odd because with the historical fiction genre, you may think that all are based in a specific time in history. That's true but there is not always moments of history that are mentioned. That may sound confusing. But specifically within this novel I enjoyed the involvement of Amelia Earhart and the Hindenburg. It had a good mixture of fiction set in a period of history. It was a good adventure read but I do have to mention that the strong integration of the German language had me confused at times. There were conversations in German placed casually throughout the story and without explanation, it did have me struggling to fully understand. Overall it was a good read. It was a well rounded story that had everything that you would want in a novel whether it be adventure, romance, or mystery. ***Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada for sending me a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review***
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventurous and bold What an adventure this book was! With a title that aptly suits the story and a bold and courageous aviatrix heroine, there was not a dull moment. From New York City to Africa, Spain, Nazi-Berlin and finally the Hindenburg Zeppelin, we follow Roxy Loewen as she and her lover Jocco Zomack chase after Bruegel's famous painting, the Fall of Icarus. The stakes are high, and Roxy discovers just how high as she plunges forward into a dangerous game with dangerous people. Roxy is a compelling character. She's rough around the edges. She smokes like a chimney, swears like a sailor, smuggles guns and takes dangerous risks. She pushes herself to the limit. Deep down, she is in pain, suffering from the loss of her father who died because of Sydney Munroe, an American billionaire to whom her father owed debts. So when her paths cross Munroe's over and over and she has the opportunity to outwit him, she doesn't hesitate. There's a soft side to her, however, a kindness and vulnerability, and it's this that balances out her character to make her quite unforgettable, as I'm sure real pilot women like her of the 30s were. This novel is well-written, and easily transported me to the WWII time period. It's evident the author researched well. The whole time I was reading this book, I could see it as a movie in my mind. The story has the feel of a noir fiction. If you're looking for a romantic book, this is not it. If you love historical fiction set in the 30s with strong female characters and a plot that doesn't shy away from high risks and consequences for its players, then this one will not disappoint. Filled with vivid flying scenes, lust for adventure, Nazi fervor and the Hindenburg disaster, Chasing the Wind explores one woman's life as she chooses to follow her heart even if it leads her to places from which she can never return. Note: This book contains f-bombs, profanity, sex scenes and violence.
Date published: 2018-06-28

Editorial Reviews

National Bestseller"[Chasing the Wind is an] exhilarating adventure. . . . This fast-paced tale is heavy on colourful plot points and evocative scenes from history books. . . . Ideal for summer cabin-, ferry- and beach-R&R. Plus, the 'strong female lead' we find in Roxy? Total on trend." —Vancouver Sun "A barrel-rolling barn-burner of a book! Roxy's got a tender heart with a steel jacket, and the skill and courage to bring her in on a wing and a prayer. A good thing, because this girl doesn't pack a parachute." —Diana Gabaldon"Chasing the Wind has everything a historical fiction reader could want. The suspense is wonderful; the writing is sure and confident; and the dialogue is witty and fast paced. I was completely engrossed from the very beginning." —Roberta Rich, author of The Midwife of Venice"Flying on the wings of Humphreys's vivid imagination, spunky aviatrix Roxy Loewen soars from Ethiopia to Madrid as the Spanish Civil War rages, and to Berlin and Hitler's Olympics, where she contends against the Nazi elite in a struggle to retrieve a stolen sixteenth century painting. A hold-on-to-your-seats aerial display with the throttle open all the way." —William Deverell, author of the Arthur Beauchamp series