Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger

Paperback | June 10, 2014

byBeth Harbison

not yet rated|write a review

"Smart, funny, and unapologetically romantic." -Publisher's Weekly (starred review)

Ten years ago, Quinn Barton was on her way to the altar to marry Burke Morrison, her high school sweetheart, when something derailed her. Rather, someone derailed her-the Best Man, who at the last minute--and with shocking revelations--begged her to reconsider the marriage. Quinn, stunned, hurt, and confused, struggled between ignoring what she was told-or running away.

She chose running. With the Best Man. Who happened to be Burke's brother, Frank.

That relationship didn't work either. How could it, when Quinn had been engaged to, in love with, Frank's brother? Quinn opted for neither, and instead, spent the next seventeen years working in her Middleburg, Virginia, bridal shop, Talk of the Gown.

But when the two brothers return to town for another wedding, old anger, hurt, and passion resurface. Just because you've traded the bad guy for the good guy for no guy doesn't mean you have to stay away from love for the rest of your life, does it? Told with Beth Harbison's flair for humor and heart, Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger will keep you guessing and make you believe in the possibilities of love.

"Funny and charming, and perfect for a lazy day in the hammock or at the beach." -New York Journal of Books

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.38 online
$16.99 list price (save 21%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

"Smart, funny, and unapologetically romantic." -Publisher's Weekly (starred review) Ten years ago, Quinn Barton was on her way to the altar to marry Burke Morrison, her high school sweetheart, when something derailed her. Rather, someone derailed her-the Best Man, who at the last minute--and with shocking revelations--begged her to rec...

BETH HARBISON is The New York Times bestselling author of When In Doubt, Add Butter, Always Something There To Remind Me; Thin, Rich, Pretty; Hope In A Jar; Secrets of a Shoe Addict; and Shoe Addicts Anonymous. She grew up in Potomac, Maryland, outside Washington, D.C., and now shares her time between that suburb, New York City, and a...

other books by Beth Harbison

Driving with the Top Down: A Novel
Driving with the Top Down: A Novel

Hardcover|May 5 2016

$5.00 online$31.00list price(save 83%)
A Shoe Addict's Christmas
A Shoe Addict's Christmas

Hardcover|Oct 18 2016

$18.42 online$24.99list price(save 26%)
One Less Problem Without You: A Novel
One Less Problem Without You: A Novel

Hardcover|Jul 26 2016

$28.31 online$37.99list price(save 25%)
see all books by Beth Harbison
Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.89 inPublished:June 10, 2014Publisher:St. Martin's PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0312599129

ISBN - 13:9780312599126

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wr Not worth reading. Didn't enjoy it at all.
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chose the Wrong Guy...... This was the most unengaged writing I've ever had the misfortune of reading, it was terrible pretentious dribble.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chose the Wrong Guy...... This was the most unengaged writing I've ever had the misfortune of reading, it was terrible pretentious dribble.
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Hit! The story follows Quinn Barton, who ten years ago was on her way to the alter to marry Burke Morrison, her high school sweetheart, when she was detailed by the Best Man - Frank Morrison, Burke's younger brother who at the last possible moment asked to to reconsider the marriage. Frank revealed that Burke had been cheating on her, which she knew nothing about. She had a choice - to stay and fulfill her guests' expectations, or run for her life. She chose to run. With the Best Man. Quinn’s convinced she’s moved on but when ten years later she’s making their grandmother’s wedding gown, she and the brothers reunite for the first time since that fateful, unhappy day and she realizes just how much she’s fooling herself because there are unresolved feelings and ghosts from the pasts that are hard to bury when your eyes are closed. She’ll have to do some serious soul searching to find out which brother if either is or was ever the right one for her. The story is told with a lot of flashbacks to both ten years ago and even further back when Quinn first meets the Morrison boys, the back-story is necessary and it keeps things moving. Her plot may be a familiar topic in romance but she takes it to the next step and gives it tons of depth. Her characters are realistic, imperfect souls who’ll capture reader’s hearts and their empathies. Her narrative is flowing and visual, her dialogue is easy to read and a mix of belly laughing humor and angst filled histrionics. Bottom line, Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger is a fun book with a lot of colorful characters. Fans of Beth Harbison won't be disappointed in her newest novel and newcomers to her work will want to rush out and pick up her back-list. Either way, you are in for a treat!
Date published: 2013-08-27

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Smart, funny, and unapologetically romantic." -Publisher's Weekly (starred)"A lighthearted romantic romp." -USA Today".this hilariously quirky, charming, perfect-for-summer read will have readers choosing sides (Team Burke! Team Frank!) and learning along with Quinn to embrace true love with humor and heart." -Booklist"An easy, breezy read, funny and charming, and perfect for a lazy day in the hammock or at the beach." -New York Journal of Books"Harbison has once again created an endearing, humorous story with laugh-out-loud twists and turns." -Shelf Awareness"Her characters are realistic, imperfect souls who'll capture reader's hearts and their empathies." -The Reading Frenzy"Harbison dazzles in her latest, a perfect blend of chick lit and women's fiction. . . . Absolutely first-rate." -Publishers Weekly (starred review) on When in Doubt, Add Butter"Delicious, just like dessert." -People Magazine on When in Doubt, Add Butter"A lovable heroine and an engaging cast of eccentrics make for a cheerful summer read." -Kirkus Reviews on When in Doubt, Add Butter"Harbison's airy prose, likable heroine, colorful characters, and engaging story are sure to appeal to fans of Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, and Emily Giffin. Think of When in Doubt, Add Butter as a soufflé. It's a tasty dish." -Examiner.com"Harbison's cast of characters is delightful." -SheKnows Book Lounge"Touching, truthful, and profoundly satisfying, Harbison delivers her finest work yet." -Jen Lancaster, New York Times bestselling author of Jeneration X, on Always Something There to Remind Me"Harbison serves up a deliciously light blend of 1980s nostalgia and women's fiction. . . . She raises the emotional stakes and gives this story a little more bite without losing her fun, breezy style." -Publishers Weekly on Always Something There to Remind Me"A fast and fun read . . . sure to appeal to anyone who came of age in the late 1980s." -Library Journal on Thin, Rich, Pretty"Told with Beth Harbison's knack for thirty and forty-something nostalgia, and heartwarming humour, Thin Rich Pretty will strike a chord with any woman who has ever looked in the mirror, or the bank account, and said, "if only . . . " -The Vancouver Province on Thin, Rich, Pretty"...fun nostalgia for those of us who loved Bonne Bell Lip Smackers & Sun-In." -Fort-Worth Star Telegram on Hope in a Jar"Harbison continues to wow readers with her charm and genuine characters." -Booklist on Hope in a Jar"Harbison's writing is zingy and funny, and her light touch allows her to get away with the ridiculous situations in this nutty beach read." -Publishers Weekly on Secrets of a Shoe Addict"Kick off your Keds (unless you're driving) and meet a motley group of D.C. women who bond over designer shoes. It's chick lit with heart and sole." -People Magazine on Shoe Addicts Anonymous"I would happily recommend Shoe Addicts Anonymous to anyone who loves shoes...or to smart, funny, realistic women." -Jennifer Weiner on Beth Harbison's Shoe Addicts Anonymous"Readers will root for these four plucky women. Like the designer shoes that pepper its pages, this book is pleasing and stylish. This frothy confection is sure to fly off the shelves this summer." -Booklist on Shoe Addicts Anonymous