Circle of Magic #2: Tris's Book by Tamora PierceCircle of Magic #2: Tris's Book by Tamora Pierce

Circle of Magic #2: Tris's Book

byTamora Pierce

Paperback | September 1, 1999

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.34 online 
$11.99 list price save 13%
Earn 52 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Four elements of power. Four children to control them. Four books of magic, adventure, and fantasy. Enter acclaimed author Tamora Pierce's Circle of Magic.

In Book 2 of the Circle of Magic Quartet, earthquake damage has left Winding Circle vulnerable to pirate attack and Tris, Briar, Daja, and Sandry are working with the community to strengthen their defenses. When the pirate onslaught begins, two things become terribly clear: The pirates have a powerful new weapon - and they have an accomplice within Winding Circle. But they've failed to anticipate the fury of a young mage who has been betrayed once too often, and who has very stubborn, very loyal friends . . .

TAMORA PIERCE is the critically acclaimed author of more than twenty novels, including the Circle of Magic and The Circle Opens quartets, The Will of the Empress, Melting Stones, and, most recently, the New York Times bestselling Beka Cooper trilogy. She lives in New York State with her husband, Tim, and her seven cats and two birds. V...
Loading
Title:Circle of Magic #2: Tris's BookFormat:PaperbackDimensions:272 pages, 6.74 × 4.09 × 0.72 inPublished:September 1, 1999Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0590554093

ISBN - 13:9780590554091

Appropriate for ages: 12

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Novel A great followup to the first book in this series. Great for younger teens, a fun and exciting read!
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this! This series holds up really well even after a couple years. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Another great novel from Tamora Pierce! I love to see the people of Discipline Cottage growing closer as a family.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great piece of Magic! Tris's Book is the second book in the "Circle of Magic" quartet by Tamora Pierce. In this book the reader follows the shy, merchant's daughter Tris, as she and her friends try to pick up the pieces after the disastrous earthquake that hit Winding Circle. However, while Tris and the other young mages are still trying to recover from the earthquake, they become attacked by a fleet of pirates. Tamora Pierce has done a great job with the second book in the series. It is darker than the first, as the young mages are discovering how far their magic extents. In this novel, we are drawn into the secret world of Tris, as her cousin comes to visit and try to lure her back home, back to the home that wanted to get rid of her in the first place. Tris's Book is filled with a lot of wonderful action scenes, as the pirates prepare to invade Winding Circle, and I particularly enjoyed reading how Tris and Daja, along with their teachers, use their magic against the pirates. Along with the main storyline, there is the continual close relationship between Tris and Briar. Tris and Briar couldn't be more opposite if they tried. Briar, being an ex-thief, and Tris being a Merchant's daughter. However despite their backgrounds, there is obviously chemistry between them and it will be interesting to see how their relationship develops in the future. Tris is such a wonderful character that a lot of us can relate to. She has lived a very sheltered life, as she drifts from one unwanted relative to another, until she finds herself at Winding Circle. With each day now she is growing more confident, with her magic, her new friends and within herself. Whilst this book is from Tris's perspective, the characters of Briar, Sandry and Daja continue to develop as well, and it has left me with a strong desire to pick up the next two books to find out more about the young mages. Tamora Pierce is an excellent writer, and this is the third quartet of hers that I have read. With each book the storylines are well thought out and compelling, and characters intensely interesting, with a strong weave of magic to bind the two together.
Date published: 2009-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Magical Have you read any Tamora Pierce books before? Well, it's the right time to start. The Circle of Magic Quartet is all about 4 friends who are learning to become mages. In this book, Tris and her friends save Winding Circle from pirates. They had combined their magic to make each person's magic stronger. Tris is a weather-witch. Tornadoes, water funnels, lightning. She has it all, Briar loves plants. He and his teacher grow vines to stop the pirate fleet. Sandry does magic in thread.She made a protection circle around the four of them. And Daja used her magic to attract the nails in the boats, pulling them out. And sinking the ship. It's really suspenseful. A really good read. If you read one, you'll read all the rest.
Date published: 2001-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Read This book is great for readers of Science Fiction and Fantasy. Especially for those who don't like to read the 6 and 7 part seris that are most common in Sci- Fi and Fantasy. it has all of the characters from the first one with a lot of time spent on Tris and Brair (Of Course.) I recommend it for anyone whos ever read Tamora Pierce or Harry Potter.
Date published: 2001-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome wow it was awsome it was a great book! tris's book was my fave of all of them.
Date published: 2000-10-06

Editorial Reviews

Pierce has created another gripping adventure that's sure to please her many fans.--School Library JournalThe opening pages quickly build to a running momentum that will keep the pages turning, and will make series reader impatient for the next installment.--Bulletin of the Center for Children's BooksThe plot is quick-moving and suspenseful, the story is exciting, and the ending satisfying. The good news is that this title will be followed by Briar's Book and Daja's Book.--Voice of Youth Advocates