City of Ghosts by Victoria SchwabCity of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

City of Ghosts

byVictoria Schwab

Hardcover | August 28, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.03 online 
$22.99 list price save 8%
Earn 105 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself.

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined.

NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).

Victoria Schwab is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of several novels for young adults and adults, including the Shades of Magic series (which has been translated into over 15 languages), This Savage Song, and Our Dark Duet. Victoria lives in Nashville, TN, but she can often be found haunting Paris streets and trudging up Engli...
Loading
Title:City of GhostsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.54 × 5.79 × 0.97 inPublished:August 28, 2018Publisher:SCHOLASTIC INCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1338111000

ISBN - 13:9781338111002

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Victoria Schwab is one of my favourite authors (probably THE favourite author). I just love every book of hers that I’ve read. I pre-ordered City of Ghosts and I was so excited to read it. I flew through it because I just didn’t want to put it down! I loved everything about this book: the setting (Scotland is one of the places I’ve always wanted to visit, and it’s one of my favourite book settings); the writing; the characters; the plot; the worldbuilding; the ghosts. I mean, a ghost story set in Scotland written by my favourite author? No surprise that I adored this book! (Also, for those wondering, this is a middle-grade book, so even though it’s a little spooky and full of ghosts, it is written for a younger audience.) This was an excellent blend of friendship, family, spookiness, and mystery. I loved City of Ghosts so much that I wanted to savour each page, but I also had to know what was happening next. Highly recommended! I spent a delightful day curled up on the couch with this book, and it’s definitely one of my favourites of the year. I read the e-book, but I really want to own a physical copy to add to my ‘favourites’ shelf. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! A great and quick read! Looking forward to the next one
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Ghost Adventure I don't usually read a lot of middle grade, but I couldn't say no to Victoria Schwab, especially around Halloween. I'm so glad I picked up this fun little book, which is much lighter fare than Schwab's usual work. But that's not to say it's all good times for the characters, and there are definitely come creepy moments. The story is a fun ghost adventure throughout Scotland and presents an interesting view of the afterlife and those who can walk between it. I found Cassidy to be an interesting character who I always wanted to root for, and Jacob is an excellent companion to her. I really want to see their unique relationship grow. The horror element was also quite intense at some points, especially near the end. The visual writing made it all the more exciting. This was a great start to my Halloween reading splurge, and while it's clearly written for younger audiences, I don't see why adults wouldn't enjoy this fun ghost adventure.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this story! I absolutely loved this book! I couldn’t put it down! This book reminded me of The Mediator series by Meg Cabot. In that series, Suzannah can speak to ghosts, and she has one particular ghost, Jesse, who follows her around. Cass and Jacob’s relationship reminded me of Suzannah and Jesse. There were also loads of Harry Potter references in this book, which is always a plus for me! This story was very fast-paced. A lot of things happened in a short amount of time. The ending also left it open to become a series. The only problem is that I want to read the next book now! I’ll definitely be recommending this book to YA and middle grade readers!
Date published: 2018-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventure with a touch of Spooky The perfect middle grade book to pick up during the Halloween season. I loved this book with its unique setting in Edinburgh, dubbed the city of ghosts. The main character was an enjoyable perspective to read from and the whole book was one adventure after another. 3.5/5 stars. I look forward to the sequel.
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I could have read it as a kid! One of my main goals for BookCon 2018 was to meet one of my all time favourite authors, Victoria Schwab. Sadly, I missed out on the opportunity to get my copy of new US Vicious signed by Victoria, but after standing in the line for an hour on the second day of the convention - I got an advanced reader’s copy of “City of Ghosts”. I was over the moon! As a matter of fact, I have several vlogs on my YT channel from the BookCon this year. I wanted to start “City of Ghosts” as soon as possible, but didn’t want to rush into it either. So, I decided to pick “City of Ghosts” for #ARCAugust challenge. Review I could not wait to read “City of Ghosts”! I was so excited! I was, however, trying to be very mindful of the fact that not only I am reading an ARC, it is middle grade, so I can’t expect the same depth of world building and character development from “City of Ghost” as from some other Victoria’s books. I was right. “City of Ghosts” is exactly what Victoria multiple times said, it was. It is the book that she wrote for her 12-year-old self. It is spooky and wonderful, and I kept thinking of Cassidy as Victoria in that age. It is a lovingly crafted narration set in Edinburgh, which is a special city for Victoria, and her current place of residence. “City of Ghosts” is a fun read full of adorable characters and unexpected adventures. I adored this book. However, no matter how much it pains me to say this about Victoria’s work - this is not the best story she has written. In her Instagram Stories, Victoria said that she saw some early readers complain that “City of Ghosts” is too simple or the plot is not layered enough, and she explained saying that middle grade books do not have the same complexity as young adult or adult books because they simply can’t be. That is the whole point of the genre. I wholeheartedly agree. I felt that “City of Ghosts” was written perfectly aligned with the target audience. It has just the right combination of fun and thrill that is so attractive to younger audience. I did, however, expect more originality of the plot than there was. Even the title surprised me, as there are dosens of novels with the same title out there. “City of Ghosts” has haunted places, traveling beyond the Veil and ghost friends. While reading this novel, I kept having a deja vu feeling. Some of the elements reminded me of Fantastic Five by Enid Blyton, some of Susan Cooper’s books (perhaps, due to the setting). Which resulted in me lowering the overall rating of the book. The writing in the novel is great and very typical of Victoria’s style, even though the ARC I got stated “uncorrected proof” on the cover. I was impressed by the lack of obvious mistakes. I did pre-order the final copy and received it the day after I finished the book. I am tempted to re-read it again. “City of Ghosts” is supposed to be a duology, so I can not wait to see what other adventure Cassidy and Jacob would get sucked into next. Rating: 3.5 stars
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Unique Ghost Story! Before I get into this, let me release a big sigh of relief. Phew. There we go. I was nervous about reading this one. Whether it be because of elevated expectations due to the brilliance of the "Shades of Magic" series or due to the intensity of the hype behind this novel, I do not know. All I know is, that this book was good. Really, really good. Victoria Schwab dove into this middle grade genre and came out with a shining success. If you have liked Victoria Schwab/V.E. Schwab's writing style in the past, I can't help but say you will like the writing style in this one. The plot enjoyment may be questionable for each individual, but the writing in this novel is her personal, authentic self that readers enjoy in each of her works. There were funny moments (loved those Harry Potter references), there were suspenseful moments, and there were serious moments. With her writing style, it was done so well that all of those moments were combined into a wonderful and entertaining story. As for the level of scary in this novel, again, that is something that Victoria Schwab hit the nail on the head for. Remember, this novel is categorized into the middle grade genre. There has to be a happy medium where it can be scary but not to the point of scary that Victoria has her door beaten down by angry parents. She succeeded in that happy medium. It was creepy, it was spooky, but not necessarily at an extreme level. It really depends on the individual and what they find scary but to me, this seemed like an appropriate level of 'spook'. Also mentionable is that I'm an adult and I enjoyed this novel immensely. Do not let the fact that it's categorized as middle grade hold you back from reading it. Then we get to the ending. That ending though. It was brilliant. I want more, I need more, and yet I will wait. Will I wait happily? Maybe not. But I will wait because I have no other choice. I'm so excited to see where the story will go from here (both in setting location and plot direction). I'm also looking forward to a younger generation being introduced to this author's writing because she has a serious talent both in writing and creating a story. ***Thank you to Scholastic Canada for sending me an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review***
Date published: 2018-08-21

Editorial Reviews

Praise for City of Ghosts  

* “This atmospheric ghost story from Schwab (the Monsters of Verity duology) chills and charms while challenging readers to face their fears.”– Publishers Weekly, starred review