Cloud Atlas (movie Tie-in Edition) by David MitchellCloud Atlas (movie Tie-in Edition) by David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas (movie Tie-in Edition)

byDavid Mitchell

Paperback | October 2, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.42 online 
$22.95 list price save 6%
Earn 107 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Praise for Cloud Atlas
 
“[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers
 
“Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”People
 
“The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon
 
Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”The Washington Post Book World
 
“Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”Boston Sunday Globe
 
“Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”Los Angeles Times


From the Hardcover edition.
David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, and Ghostwritten. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchel...
Loading
Title:Cloud Atlas (movie Tie-in Edition)Format:PaperbackDimensions:528 pages, 8.43 × 5.45 × 1.07 inPublished:October 2, 2012Publisher:Knopf CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0345807472

ISBN - 13:9780345807472

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cloud Atlas Loved this book. Such an incredible concept linking th elives of all the different characters. It's incredibly interesting!
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Favourite So this book is great. Simple as that. It definitely can be confusing, I watched the movie first (I don't usually like doing that) and it made reading it a lot simpler. But each to their own. I loved all the different story lines and the different lives the book followed. I would highly recommend, it's super interesting.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathtaking! I always knew this would be a challenge and it was SO rewarding. Mitchell is incredibly clever - the changes in language over time and all of the connections between characters through time. Breathtaking.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Novel!         A great novel, a hard read but with a pay off. It takes time and commitment but it`s been a great learning experience. The author`s style is impeccable, albeit hard to comprehend at times. The stories seem independent and at the climax have a grand confluence of themes. These then disparate stories conflate and become a single entity, very much a great novel.
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing I only finished reading 5 stories, gave up out of frustration. The first story was difficult to follow. I liked 2-3 stories, the one about journalist and the sci-fi story. I heard the movie is little confusing, the book is not much better. It's not easy to read - hated the style of writing of some stories.
Date published: 2012-12-19

Editorial Reviews

“[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”—The New York Times Book Review   “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers   “Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”—People   “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon   “Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”—The Washington Post Book World   “Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”—Boston Sunday Globe   “Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”—Los Angeles TimesFrom the Hardcover edition.