Coleridge And The Daemonic Imagination by G. LeadbetterColeridge And The Daemonic Imagination by G. Leadbetter

Coleridge And The Daemonic Imagination

byG. Leadbetter

Hardcover | March 29, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$119.36 online 
$151.95 list price save 21%
Earn 597 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Through politics, religion and his relationship with Wordsworth, the book builds to a new interpretation of the poems where Coleridge's daemonic imagination produces its myths: The Ancient Mariner, Kubla Khan and Christabel . Re-reading the origins of Romanticism, Leadbetter reveals a Coleridge at once more familiar and more strange.
Gregory Leadbetter is a Lecturer in the School of English at Birmingham City University, UK.
Loading
Title:Coleridge And The Daemonic ImaginationFormat:HardcoverDimensions:274 pages, 8.5 × 5.51 × 0.89 inPublished:March 29, 2011Publisher:Palgrave MacmillanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0230103219

ISBN - 13:9780230103214

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Table of Contents

The Willing Daemon: Coleridge and the Transnatural * 'Pagan Philosophy' and the 'Pride of Speculation': Spiritual Politics and the Metaphysical Imagination, 1795-1797 * 'Not a Man, But a Monster': Organicism, Becoming and the Daemonic Imago * Transnatural Language: The 'Library-Cormorant' in the 'Vernal Wood' * 'The Dark Green Adder's Tongue': Osorio and the 'Poetry of Nature' * 'A Distinct Current of My Own': Poetry and the Uses of the Supernatural * 'The Rime of the Ancient Mariner' * 'Kubla Khan' * 'Christabel'

Editorial Reviews

“Leadbetter's method is to probe ideas and explore their resonance: a kind of ultrasound imaging that traces currents of emotion, thought, and morality moving within the whole span of Coleridge's writing. His new book draws on resources that have recently entered the public domain with sympathy and intelligence, and sets out clearly what so many of us have either not been able to see or not quite able to say before. He brings fresh insight to age-old questions and familiar poems, resulting in a clarified sense of the contradictions that moved a great creative mind. This is an exciting book and necessary not only for readers of Coleridge and Wordsworth but also for anyone interested in how poetry is made.”—J. C. C. Mays, University College, Dublin“This is a subtle and erudite meditation on Coleridge’s poetry, making frequently brilliant connections with his notebooks, essays, and letters. The theme of the ‘transnatural’ running throughout Coleridge’s work (what we might also call the pagan, the transgressive, or the subversive erotic) is explored with zest and confidence, most particularly so in the ballads. Altogether this is an excellent academic study, fully alive to previous Coleridge criticism, but not afraid to strike out on its own, and even to adventure into mysterious and forbidden territory, the ‘far countree’ of Coleridge’s imagination.”—Richard Holmes, biographer of Coleridge and author of The Age of Wonder"Leadbetter's book offers us a new way into Coleridge, presenting a writer and thinker who repeatedly found his truest genius in the experiences that made him most uneasy. It is a compelling and encompassing account of a powerfully heterodoxical mind. Leadbetter has penetrating things to say across the whole range of the great career.”—Seamus Perry, Balliol College, Oxford