Coleridge And The Daemonic Imagination

Hardcover | March 15, 2011

byGregory Leadbetter

not yet rated|write a review
***Winner of the CCUE Book Prize 2012!***


Fascinated by his own imagination, Coleridge secretly wrote that its characteristic blend of power and desire made him a "Daemon": a being superstitiously feared as "a something transnatural." Coleridge and the Daemonic Imagination examines this simultaneous experience of exaltation and transgression as a formative principle in Coleridge's poetry and the fabric of his philosophy. In a reading that spans the breadth of Coleridge's achievement, through politics, religion and his relationship with Wordsworth, this book builds to a new interpretation of the poems where Coleridge's daemonic imagination produces its myths: "The Rime of the Ancient Mariner," "Kubla Khan" and "Christabel." Gregory Leadbetter reveals a Coleridge at once more familiar and more strange, in a study that unfolds into an essay on poetry, spirituality, and the drama of human becoming.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$143.00

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

***Winner of the CCUE Book Prize 2012!*** Fascinated by his own imagination, Coleridge secretly wrote that its characteristic blend of power and desire made him a "Daemon": a being superstitiously feared as "a something transnatural." Coleridge and the Daemonic Imagination examines this simultaneous experience of exaltation and transgr...

Gregory Leadbetter is a Lecturer in the School of English at Birmingham City University.
Format:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.94 × 5.66 × 0.88 inPublished:March 15, 2011Publisher:Palgrave MacmillanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0230103219

ISBN - 13:9780230103214

Customer Reviews of Coleridge And The Daemonic Imagination

Reviews

Extra Content

Table of Contents

The Willing Daemon: Coleridge and the Transnatural * “Pagan Philosophy” and the “Pride of Speculation”: Spiritual Politics and the Metaphysical Imagination, 1795-1797 * “Not a Man, But a Monster”: Organicism, Becoming and the Daemonic Imago * Transnatural Language: The “Library-Cormorant” in the “Vernal Wood” * “The Dark Green Adder’s Tongue”: Osorio and the “Poetry of Nature” * “A Distinct Current of My Own”: Poetry and the Uses of the Supernatural * “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” * “Kubla Khan” * “Christabel”   

Editorial Reviews

“Leadbetter's method is to probe ideas and explore their resonance: a kind of ultrasound imaging that traces currents of emotion, thought, and morality moving within the whole span of Coleridge's writing. His new book draws on resources that have recently entered the public domain with sympathy and intelligence, and sets out clearly what so many of us have either not been able to see or not quite able to say before. He brings fresh insight to age-old questions and familiar poems, resulting in a clarified sense of the contradictions that moved a great creative mind. This is an exciting book and necessary not only for readers of Coleridge and Wordsworth but also for anyone interested in how poetry is made.”—J. C. C. Mays, University College, Dublin“This is a subtle and erudite meditation on Coleridge’s poetry, making frequently brilliant connections with his notebooks, essays, and letters. The theme of the ‘transnatural’ running throughout Coleridge’s work (what we might also call the pagan, the transgressive, or the subversive erotic) is explored with zest and confidence, most particularly so in the ballads. Altogether this is an excellent academic study, fully alive to previous Coleridge criticism, but not afraid to strike out on its own, and even to adventure into mysterious and forbidden territory, the ‘far countree’ of Coleridge’s imagination.”—Richard Holmes, biographer of Coleridge and author of The Age of Wonder"Leadbetter's book offers us a new way into Coleridge, presenting a writer and thinker who repeatedly found his truest genius in the experiences that made him most uneasy. It is a compelling and encompassing account of a powerfully heterodoxical mind. Leadbetter has penetrating things to say across the whole range of the great career.”—Seamus Perry, Balliol College, Oxford