Collapsible

February 28, 2019|
Collapsible by Tim Conley
$18.00
Paperback
Earn 90 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
In-Store Availability
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

The short story form is unambiguously un-dead in this new album of thirty fictions from writer Tim Conley, coming at the reader in a variety of shapes and guises running the gamut from elliptical micro-fictions to tales of the inexplicable.

Steeped in Beckett, Borges and Nabokov, Conley''s multiple universes allow for werewolves that excite ridicule not fear, and where birthdays are an occasion for forgetting not remembering. Here, the world greets a new colouring book with the same seriousness as it might some newly discovered gospel, and struggles to embrace fictional celebrities with the same ardour it reserves for real ones. And why not a variant of origami that is used on the human form?



"In this witty and dynamic new collection, Tim Conley shows us how reality, the story, and the human are a single marvellously entangled surface. Like a Moebius Strip, with all our surprise endings, paradoxes, mysteries, ambiguities, comedies, ingenuity and invention, we are our stories and our stories are us. In the tradition of Calvino, Lydia Davis, Borges and Kafka, these short fictions explore the strangeness, curiosity, beauty, contradiction, humour and delightful discombobulation of being alive and of being alive to the telling tale."

— Gary Barwin, author of Yiddish for Pirates, winner, Stephen Leacock Medal, Canadian Jewish Literary Award, and finalist for the Governor-General’s Literary Award and the Scotiabank Giller prize.


"This new collection is exploratory, and I mean that in the most laudatory sense. The stories of Collapsible are like dexterous, astonishingly articulate fish, darting just beyond our grasp within waves of distortion and illumination while writhing in their scaly, original beauty. Tim Conley writes out of his own fierce, delightful curiosity. He will inspire you to read and write and think with more audacity."

— Spencer Gordon, author of Cruise Missile Liberals and Cosmo.
Tim Conley is the author of several books of fiction, poetry, and criticism, including Dance Moves of the Near Future (New Star, 2015) and Unless Acted Upon (Mansfield Press, 2019). He teaches English at Brock University, and has published widely on Joyce, Nabokov, and other aspects of twentieth-century literature.Tim Conley is the aut...
Loading
Title:CollapsibleFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:192 pages, 8 X 5 X 0.5 inShipping dimensions:192 pages, 8 X 5 X 0.5 inPublished:February 28, 2019Publisher:NEW STAR BOOKSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1554201519

ISBN - 13:9781554201518

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: