Collected Poems: 1934 - 1952 by Dylan Thomas

Collected Poems: 1934 - 1952

byDylan Thomas

Kobo ebook | March 6, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


  Dylan Thomas is one of the most respected poets in the English language. Although he died aged 39, his reputation is as great as ever after 60 years.

  Dylan's most popular poems include 'Do not go gentle into that good night' and 'And Death Shall have No Dominion'.  His famous play for voices, 'Under Milk Wood' is an astounding, fascinating, depiction of life in a Welch village. It was produced into a radio play, the main part read by Richard Burton, also Welsh.

  "Though they sink through the sea they shall rise again;
  Though lovers be lost love shall not
  And death shall have no dominion
  And death shall have no dominion"

  Dylan Thomas's verbal style played against strict verse forms, such as the villanelle ("Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night"). His images were carefully ordered in a patterned sequence, and his major theme was the unity of all life, the continuing process of life and death and new life that linked the generations.

   Thomas saw biology as a magical transformation producing unity out of diversity, and in his poetry he sought a poetic ritual to celebrate this unity. He saw men and women locked in cycles of growth, love, procreation, new growth, death, and new life again.

  This collection of his poetry contains 89 poems, including all the most famous ones.

Title:Collected Poems: 1934 - 1952Format:Kobo ebookPublished:March 6, 2013Publisher:Download eBooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: