Composers Of The Nazi Era: Eight Portraits by Michael H. KaterComposers Of The Nazi Era: Eight Portraits by Michael H. Kater

Composers Of The Nazi Era: Eight Portraits

byMichael H. Kater

Paperback | January 15, 2002

Pricing and Purchase Info

$28.25 online 
$56.50 list price save 50%
Earn 141 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


How does creativity thrive in the face of fascism? How can a highly artistic individual function professionally in so threatening a climate? Composers of the Nazi Era is the final book in a critically acclaimed trilogy that includes Different Drummers (OUP 1992) and The Twisted Muse (OUP 1997), which won the Wallace K. Ferguson Prize of the Canadian Historical Association. Here, historian Michael H. Kater provides a detailed study ofthe often interrelated careers of eight prominent German composers who lived and worked amid the dictatorship of the Third Reich, or were driven into exile by it: Werner Egk, Paul Hindemith, Kurt Weill, Karl Amadeus Hartmann, Carl Orff, Hans Pfitzner, Arnold Schoenberg, and Richard Strauss. Katerweighs issues of accommodation and resistance to ask whether these artists corrupted themselves in the service of a criminal regime--and if so, whether this may be discerned from their music. After chapters discussing the circumstances of each composer individually, Kater concludes with an analysisof the composers' different responses to the Nazi regime and an overview of the sociopolitical background against which they functioned. The final chapter also extends the discussion beyond the end of World War II to examine how the composers reacted to the new and fragile democracy inGermany.
Michael H. Kater is Distinguished Research Professor of History at the Centre for German and European Studies, York University, Toronto. He has published widely on modern Germany and is a Guggenheim Fellow as well as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.
Title:Composers Of The Nazi Era: Eight PortraitsFormat:PaperbackPublished:January 15, 2002Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0195152867

ISBN - 13:9780195152869

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Preface1. Werner Egk: The Enigmatic Optimist2. Paul Hindemith: The Reluctant Emigre3. Kurt Weill: A Survivor on Two Continents4. Karl Amadeus Hartmann: The Composer as Dissident5. Carl Orff: Man of Legend6. Hans Pfitzner: Magister Teutonicus Miser7. Arnold Schoenberg: Musician of Contrasts8. Richard Strauss: Jupiter CompromisedConclusionNotesIndex

Editorial Reviews

"....This psychologically sensitive and fascinating study of the lives of eight selected composers must be acclaimed as a significant contribution to our understanding of the history of the Third Reich....Kater lucidly demonstrates....the relationship between art and politics in a totalitarianstate, but also of the way in which the past was dealt with during the post-war era." - - -German Historical Institute Bulletin (Vol.XXIV No 2)