Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke

Hardcover | April 21, 2015

byAnne Blankman

not yet rated|write a review

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives in England, posing as an ordinary German immigrant, and is preparing to graduate from high school. Her love, Daniel, is a reporter in town. For the first time in her life, Gretchen is content.

But then Daniel gets a telegram that sends him back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down. When she receives word that Daniel is wanted for murder, she has to face the danger she thought she'd escaped—and return to her homeland.

Gretchen must do everything she can to avoid capture, even though saving Daniel will mean consorting with her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as they work to clear Daniel's name, Gretchen and Daniel discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and get out in time—or will Hitler discover them first?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.82 online
$21.99 list price (save 5%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her ol...

From the Jacket

In 1930s Oxford, the days are long and pleasant, the people simple and straightforward. Except for one.The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: she used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives with a kindly English family, posing ...

Anne Blankman is the acclaimed author ofPrisoner of Night and Fog, which received a starred review and a Flying Start fromPublishers Weekly. When Anne was twelve, she read Anne Frank's diary and has been haunted by World War II ever since. The idea forConspiracy of Blood and Smokecame to her after she read about a real-life unsolved st...

other books by Anne Blankman

Prisoner Of Night And Fog
Prisoner Of Night And Fog

Paperback|Apr 21 2015

$12.50

Traitor Angels
Traitor Angels

Hardcover|May 3 2016

$18.22 online$21.99list price(save 17%)
Prisoner Of Night And Fog
Prisoner Of Night And Fog

Audio Book (CD)|Apr 22 2014

$44.26 online$51.95list price(save 14%)
see all books by Anne Blankman
Format:HardcoverDimensions:416 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.29 inPublished:April 21, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062278843

ISBN - 13:9780062278845

Customer Reviews of Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Such a great POV The follow-up to Prisoner of Night and Fog, Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke finds Gretchen and Daniel living their lives, safe from the happenings of their hometown. A telegram from a friend sends Daniel back to Germany and Gretchen soon follows. Daniel is wanted for murder and they must clear his name before they can leave Germany again. While investigating the murder, they begin to uncover just how deep the conspiracy goes and puts their lives in even more danger. I loved Prisoner of Night and Fog and I wasn’t sure if a sequel could top it, but Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke managed to do just that. It was action-packed, fast-paced and the tension was high through the whole book. There were some really great new characters introduced and the re-appearance of ones from the previous book. Gretchen grew a lot in the first book. It was her journey about seeing the Jews as people instead of what Hitler wanted her to see them as: lesser, unpure. It was her breaking free of him and his beliefs. The second book had her continuing that growth arc but in a more subtle manner. It was her seeing the way the Nazis were treating people and her horror at how she used to think. It was her remembering interactions with her father and Hitler and seeing them in a new light. The romance was heavier in the second book and Gretchen and Daniel had to deal with what being in love meant for them. It was obvious they did care for each other but they also had their own dreams for their lives and maybe being together would mean one of them sacrificing that dream. I liked the push and pull between them in this book. They were drawn to each other, they loved each other, but maybe that wasn’t enough. We also got to learn a lot more about Daniel in this book and it was great. He was a great character in the first book but getting more of his story just made him that much better. Again, there were so many historical facts woven into the plot. Yes, the characters are mostly fictional and some of the events were also fictionalized or tweaked to fit the plot, but there was still a lot of facts. The author’s notes had a lot of information as well and I found it really interesting. It made me wish they’d gone more in depth during school when they taught us history(instead of just learning our country’s role). The writing in the first book was wonderful and it continued into the second. It made for a really great read that I didn’t want to put down. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-04-01

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “A winning gamble”